Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
This is my great grandmother's receipe. I thought I would add a note. This is a dense cake and I never bake it in round pans I think it is do heavy to make a good layer cake. I always make a sheet cake out of it. I also usually serve with warm berries and whip cream. I mostly use blackberries and blueberries. I heat them in a sauce pan on low until they start to "melt down" then I add some honey and bring it to a boil. I then thicken it into a sauce with cornstarch. Thought I would add that note! Hope it helps those looking at this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laclede, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
My 11 year old daughter (a great cook!) made this for her father's birthday cake. She DOUBLED the recipe to get enough batter for 2 round pans and the layers were just the right height. I can see where using the recipe as is would produce very thin layers. She also upped the vanilla a bit, and used lactose-free milk and Smart Balance instead of butter for her lactose intolerant sister. The cake was moist and flavorful, more yellow than white, and great with chocolate frosting and surrounded by strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASTASIAJANE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
I was quite dissapointed with this cake. I set out this morning to make a poke cake for my son's 2nd birthday. I read the previous reviews and made the changes suggested, including really greasing the pan so the cake would come out well (still stuck), and I added a 3rd tsp of baking powder to avoid the flat cake problem the others had (still quite flat and heavy). The cake was also VERY brown around the edges (my oven temperature is correct). I will say that the cake had a good flavor, but i will not be making this one again. Off to buy a cake at the bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I am a 3 time award winning sous chef. A note of advice to others who have rated this recipe, look at the history behind it. I made this cake today for my husbands birthday...and I think it turned out great! I used a melted coating of chocolate and peanut butter and served with fresh strawberries couldn't have asked for better! The cake did not stick, as I floured the bottom of the cake pan. Bottom line is I think it is wonderful, the history behind it is beautiful...and if you want Betty Crocker or Duncan Hines, go to the store. If you want to indulge in a little history...use this a a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This is a dense cake. It's supposed to be. If you want a lighter cake, use cake flour. The ratio is 1 cup and 2 tablespoons of cake flour to every 1 cup of AP flour. I've made this cake both ways and have even mixed the flours. I liked mixed the best. I also add 1/2 teaspoon more vanilla extract because I like it that way. This is a very good recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: East Palestine, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I made this cake on the 4th (for my sis' bday) and the whole group loved it. Moist and easy to make- it was an awesome cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by relvaccaro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Alright. I was in a hurry to get a recipe that I had the ingredients for, and due to the rating of this cake, I didn't read the reviews. I suppose I should have. Mine turned out, like others, flat and crisp around the edges. Although this could be a decent cake with tweaking, it needs so much tweaking that I'm not going to bother. It's less work to find another recipe. It was still edible, with a liberal application of icing and blanched slivered almonds, but it was still pretty tough. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2004
This cake is absolutely delicious, and so easy to make. I made it for my daughter's birthday, and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Simple and delicious! I've made it twice and both times I added a little extra almond flavor. The second time I baked the cake I added a fresh strawberry sauce (recipe follows)to the cake fresh out of the oven. I arranged fresh strawberries on the top of the cake and received many compliments, not only on the look but especially on the taste! INGREDIENTS: 1/2 cup sugar 1/4 cup water 1 tablespoon lemon juice 3 tablespoons butter or margarine 1 pint basket of strawberries, halved DIRECTIONS: In medium skillet mix sugar, water and lemon juice. Stir over medium heat until sugar is dissolved and mixture comes just to boil. Add butter; stir until melted. Mix in strawberries; heat through, but do not cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Li

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
What a waste of frosting! This cake did not rise much, so I cut the layers in half and made a four-layer half cake. Looked great, tasted awful. Very heavy, with an eggy taste. I'll stick to Duncan Hines from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States