Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Read the reviews and made in anyway and boy am I glad! I was really finicky though-I used scoops for measuring the dry ingredients, completely levelled them, and only measured the milk using a measuring cup. I also used whole milk as a recipe from a great granny is likely not of the skim or 2% era! I also greased and floured my pan as usual. The cake turned out a gorgeous light golden colour on the outside, didn't stick, and was delicious with chocolate frosting. Can't wait to try it with seasonal berries and cream! Kudos to granny :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I only had small eggs so I used three eggs instead of two and the batter was a bit runny so I used two cups of flour instead of one and a half. I added multi-colored sprinkles in the batter and it came out perfect!!! I will definetly be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralie1978

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This is the second time I've tried this cake and both times I've been very satisfied with it. I find it is reminscent of childhood cakes that I've eaten. Wonderful! The first time I used one cup of sugar (bit too sweet for me), the second time I used half cup sugar (not quite sweet enough). Next time I will try three quarter cup and I'm sure it will be perfect. This cake didn't stick to the pan, at all. I greased and floured the glass pan and it came out like a dream. Yes, it doesn't rise as much as cake mixes, but height is not what it's about for me. Thanks for submitting Nany's White Cake. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patsy Bond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
yes, it is a very dense cake. i used mudslide mix instead of milk, and it tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: University City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I did not like this. The cake was very tough and had a bland bread taste. Tried to make a birthday cake with this. We skipped the birthday cake, thank goodness I also had a fruit salad to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chrisa
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
This is a fantastic cake!!! When I made it, I added lime juice to the mixture and then, after baking and cooling, I devised me own recipe for a glaze made with lime, coconut, and walnuts that was absolutly delicious! Thanks for the great white cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I loved this recipe, simple, fun, and very good when finished! I used it in my Triffles for dessert! :D I love it very much, thank you for sharing your grandmothers recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lillooet, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Pavilion, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Alright. I was in a hurry to get a recipe that I had the ingredients for, and due to the rating of this cake, I didn't read the reviews. I suppose I should have. Mine turned out, like others, flat and crisp around the edges. Although this could be a decent cake with tweaking, it needs so much tweaking that I'm not going to bother. It's less work to find another recipe. It was still edible, with a liberal application of icing and blanched slivered almonds, but it was still pretty tough. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I wish I had read the reviews before I used this recipe! I made cupcakes for a fundraiser and they were flat,tough, and not really sweet. The most people could say was the icing is good. Now I have to try and save my baking reputation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
So glad I didn't read the reviews or I might have skipped this wonderful cake! Made 6 perfect mini- roses (Nordic) - they fell right out of the pans, and the cake is light and perfectly sweet! Thanks to Nany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States