Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
It was super simple and it tasted delicious. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I needed a white cake that would be able to hold a serious chocolate frosting so I looked around and spotted this one. Read some of the reviews and gave it a go. Now, my mother always told me sour cream makes a good cake great, so I did add a cup of sour cream to this recipe. The sour cream in combination with everything in the recipe is perfect. Just perfect. It tastes phenominal, the cake is moist yet it is robust enough to hold gobs of super heavy frosting, so its great for birthdays and special occasion decorating. Thank you for sharing! A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Just found this recipe last night and had to make it today. I love these old fashioned cakes like I made when I was very young. They still taste the best to me. I let my KA cream the butter and sugar for 3 or 4 minutes, then beat well after each egg was added. The texture of this cake is so light, certainly not dense or heavy. I frosted this cake with fudgy frosting and it is delicious. Thanks, Megan, for a great recipe that will be made often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
My kids and I made this cake last night. It looked like something easy for them to help me with, and it was. We followed the recipe exactly, then added milk chocolate chips. The chips, of course, all sank to the bottom (I thought they would). The cake was delicious! We didn't frost it, but I did serve it with vanilla ice cream. My mother used to make a "one-egg cake," and this was similar, but with a stronger vanilla flavor. The cake was on the dense side, but was very moist. I plan to use this recipe again, and I also want to try making it into a marble cake. I've stopped buying boxed cake mixes, so this recipe is definitely going into my binder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I was looking for a simple white cake recipe and found this one. I followed the recipe with the exception of using 1/2 cup butter and adding a tsp of almond extract along with the vanilla. The cake turned out fluffy and tasty. This recipe was easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Perfect, simple & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope Garfield

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SurvivorRK
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Love this cake... No idea what people were talking about it not rising enough- mine was perfect the couple of times I've made it. In fact, I add an extra egg when stacking (with fruit filling in between) to keep it from falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Far too dense for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgeorge884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
It tasted good cake yet heavy and dense. I can see why she uses it with fruit, but not good for a birthday cake which I used it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
We love this cake!! I wrote the recipe down for my 9 year old daughter to make and bake in her cupcake maker and the are the most delicious cupcakes! Once we didnt have the stuff to make a frosting and the cakes were even delicious without any frosting! Some family came to visit and they normally like store bought cake but they loved this one! Thanks Nany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States