Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
We got through half of the preparation of this cake when we discovered we didn't have any milk. Upon reading the other reviews which all said that the final product emerged very dense, I decided to go for the gusto. The two of us closed our eyes and poured a can of sweetened condensed milk in instead. The final product was like a brownie blondie rather than cake, but it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
WOW!!! This is a great recipe. I only had 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract, so I added 1/2 tsp of almond extract. Since I keep my butter in the freezer, I used 1/2 cup of unsalted butter instead of a 1/3 cup. Also, I used butter and sugar instead of butter/flour in the pan. I baked it in a 10 inch round pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I added some blackberries and raspberries to the inside of the cake. I made a third layer and floded some almonds into it. With a bit of cream cheese frosting, it made a really light, very yummy desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Read the reviews and made in anyway and boy am I glad! I was really finicky though-I used scoops for measuring the dry ingredients, completely levelled them, and only measured the milk using a measuring cup. I also used whole milk as a recipe from a great granny is likely not of the skim or 2% era! I also greased and floured my pan as usual. The cake turned out a gorgeous light golden colour on the outside, didn't stick, and was delicious with chocolate frosting. Can't wait to try it with seasonal berries and cream! Kudos to granny :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I only had small eggs so I used three eggs instead of two and the batter was a bit runny so I used two cups of flour instead of one and a half. I added multi-colored sprinkles in the batter and it came out perfect!!! I will definetly be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralie1978

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This is the second time I've tried this cake and both times I've been very satisfied with it. I find it is reminscent of childhood cakes that I've eaten. Wonderful! The first time I used one cup of sugar (bit too sweet for me), the second time I used half cup sugar (not quite sweet enough). Next time I will try three quarter cup and I'm sure it will be perfect. This cake didn't stick to the pan, at all. I greased and floured the glass pan and it came out like a dream. Yes, it doesn't rise as much as cake mixes, but height is not what it's about for me. Thanks for submitting Nany's White Cake. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patsy Bond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
yes, it is a very dense cake. i used mudslide mix instead of milk, and it tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: University City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I did not like this. The cake was very tough and had a bland bread taste. Tried to make a birthday cake with this. We skipped the birthday cake, thank goodness I also had a fruit salad to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chrisa
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
This is a fantastic cake!!! When I made it, I added lime juice to the mixture and then, after baking and cooling, I devised me own recipe for a glaze made with lime, coconut, and walnuts that was absolutly delicious! Thanks for the great white cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I loved this recipe, simple, fun, and very good when finished! I used it in my Triffles for dessert! :D I love it very much, thank you for sharing your grandmothers recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lillooet, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Pavilion, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States