Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This is the second time I've tried this cake and both times I've been very satisfied with it. I find it is reminscent of childhood cakes that I've eaten. Wonderful! The first time I used one cup of sugar (bit too sweet for me), the second time I used half cup sugar (not quite sweet enough). Next time I will try three quarter cup and I'm sure it will be perfect. This cake didn't stick to the pan, at all. I greased and floured the glass pan and it came out like a dream. Yes, it doesn't rise as much as cake mixes, but height is not what it's about for me. Thanks for submitting Nany's White Cake. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
yes, it is a very dense cake. i used mudslide mix instead of milk, and it tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: University City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I did not like this. The cake was very tough and had a bland bread taste. Tried to make a birthday cake with this. We skipped the birthday cake, thank goodness I also had a fruit salad to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chrisa
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
This is a fantastic cake!!! When I made it, I added lime juice to the mixture and then, after baking and cooling, I devised me own recipe for a glaze made with lime, coconut, and walnuts that was absolutly delicious! Thanks for the great white cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I loved this recipe, simple, fun, and very good when finished! I used it in my Triffles for dessert! :D I love it very much, thank you for sharing your grandmothers recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lillooet, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Pavilion, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Alright. I was in a hurry to get a recipe that I had the ingredients for, and due to the rating of this cake, I didn't read the reviews. I suppose I should have. Mine turned out, like others, flat and crisp around the edges. Although this could be a decent cake with tweaking, it needs so much tweaking that I'm not going to bother. It's less work to find another recipe. It was still edible, with a liberal application of icing and blanched slivered almonds, but it was still pretty tough. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I wish I had read the reviews before I used this recipe! I made cupcakes for a fundraiser and they were flat,tough, and not really sweet. The most people could say was the icing is good. Now I have to try and save my baking reputation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
So glad I didn't read the reviews or I might have skipped this wonderful cake! Made 6 perfect mini- roses (Nordic) - they fell right out of the pans, and the cake is light and perfectly sweet! Thanks to Nany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Very delicious and fantastic with Pineapple icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
I was quite dissapointed with this cake. I set out this morning to make a poke cake for my son's 2nd birthday. I read the previous reviews and made the changes suggested, including really greasing the pan so the cake would come out well (still stuck), and I added a 3rd tsp of baking powder to avoid the flat cake problem the others had (still quite flat and heavy). The cake was also VERY brown around the edges (my oven temperature is correct). I will say that the cake had a good flavor, but i will not be making this one again. Off to buy a cake at the bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States