Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I actually like the thickness of the cake in this recipe. I added a little extra butter which made for a moister cake. Because it is a heavier cake I didn't choose to use the traditional butter creme frosting, instead I just made my own creme cheese frosting which was a yummy addition to the cake. I did use a round cake pan for this recipe and thinned the batter out a little bit and the cake turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Was looking for a white cake to make from scratch. I was hesitant to make this because of the reviews. I am so glad I made it. I had no problems, and the cake turned out YUMMY! It was gone within 2 days. Got one in the oven cooking now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I am a 3 time award winning sous chef. A note of advice to others who have rated this recipe, look at the history behind it. I made this cake today for my husbands birthday...and I think it turned out great! I used a melted coating of chocolate and peanut butter and served with fresh strawberries couldn't have asked for better! The cake did not stick, as I floured the bottom of the cake pan. Bottom line is I think it is wonderful, the history behind it is beautiful...and if you want Betty Crocker or Duncan Hines, go to the store. If you want to indulge in a little history...use this a a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This Recipe Is Great. This Is My First Time Doing It From Scratch. I Did What Your Recipe Side But Added A Package Of Dry Strawberry Pudding Mix. O Man It Even Smalls Like A Strawberry Cake You Get From Betty Crocker And Other Comps. The Reason For Me To Try This Out Is Because They Don't Sale Are Make Strawberry Cake Mixes Here In Germany. Like They Do Back Home In The States Like Tx. Thats Where Im From. I Miss That Cake A Lot. And Now I Can Make That And Enjoy To.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I just thought this recipe was ok. I looked for over an hour for the best rated white cake and this one seemed to be it. It was just small family cake for my sons birthday so I wanted it to be extra special and I thought it was just fair. It was easy so if I ever needed a cake to put fruit and cream on I would make it agin, but not as a cake with frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This was probably the easiest cake (from scratch) I've ever made. The ingredients are simple and few, mix the wet add the dry, mix again and whalahh!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I absolutely loved this recipe. I added a pkg of instant french vanilla pudding to this mix. This helped with the moisture, and added a rich vanilla flavor to it. And then I topped it off with cream cheese frosting. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
My 11 year old daughter (a great cook!) made this for her father's birthday cake. She DOUBLED the recipe to get enough batter for 2 round pans and the layers were just the right height. I can see where using the recipe as is would produce very thin layers. She also upped the vanilla a bit, and used lactose-free milk and Smart Balance instead of butter for her lactose intolerant sister. The cake was moist and flavorful, more yellow than white, and great with chocolate frosting and surrounded by strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASTASIAJANE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This made a great cake. I use this when I need a shortcake base like for strawberry shortcake. It only made two THIN layers though, and they weren't really thick enough to split in two easily so I left them as is. This is a heavier denser cake and more suited for fruit and cream or another topping but not so much frosting as this is a heavy dense cake. Thanks for sharing this turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I was looking for a dense yellow or white cake to serve with strawberries and whipped cream, and this is very close. It went over well as our Easter dessert, this recipe is a keeper as it is so quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States