Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
My 11 year old daughter (a great cook!) made this for her father's birthday cake. She DOUBLED the recipe to get enough batter for 2 round pans and the layers were just the right height. I can see where using the recipe as is would produce very thin layers. She also upped the vanilla a bit, and used lactose-free milk and Smart Balance instead of butter for her lactose intolerant sister. The cake was moist and flavorful, more yellow than white, and great with chocolate frosting and surrounded by strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASTASIAJANE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This made a great cake. I use this when I need a shortcake base like for strawberry shortcake. It only made two THIN layers though, and they weren't really thick enough to split in two easily so I left them as is. This is a heavier denser cake and more suited for fruit and cream or another topping but not so much frosting as this is a heavy dense cake. Thanks for sharing this turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I was looking for a dense yellow or white cake to serve with strawberries and whipped cream, and this is very close. It went over well as our Easter dessert, this recipe is a keeper as it is so quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I was caught in a bind when I used Betty Crocker cake mix for my twin's birthday. The cake puffed in the middle and looked too flat in the aluminum pan (I didn't have a cake pan). I had to find a recipe that was easy to add another layer onto the cake. I substituted three eggs whites for 2 eggs to get a lighter cake. The edges did brown a bit and the center caved in slightly but the cake was pretty flat. I cut off the bulge from the first cake and placed this cake on top. It made a perfect two layer cake. I used vanilla pudding to spread between the layers. I added double cream to a Betty Crocker frosting to make it less surgary... I also needed more frosting. The cake came out surprisingly well!! I didn't have a chance to taste it until everyone had gone and I didn't read the reviews until later. I agree that this cake seemed a little heavy but I think the egg whites helped.. plus it's so easy and much tastier than the Betty Crocker white vanilla cake mix. It saved me from running out to buy a cake for my twins' birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This cake is great! The only thing I canged was that I put it in a 8in square baking dish and baked it for about 10 more miniutes (about 40 min.) It is so so good, moist, delicious. My husband LOVES it. Also, I frosted it with the creamy white icing found on this website, perfect match. LOVE IT, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This is a dense cake. It's supposed to be. If you want a lighter cake, use cake flour. The ratio is 1 cup and 2 tablespoons of cake flour to every 1 cup of AP flour. I've made this cake both ways and have even mixed the flours. I liked mixed the best. I also add 1/2 teaspoon more vanilla extract because I like it that way. This is a very good recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: East Palestine, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
VERY DRY CAKE! I also don't think this recipe was meant for 9" cake pans as each layer was about half what it should have been. It DEFINITELY had an interesting flavor, though, and would be well worth trying again with more milk as other reviewers recommended. However, for what I was after, I'm gonna keep lookin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I made this cake as a base for an English trifle,which it is perfect for. I ate so many squares of this with sliced strawberries whilst assembling the trifle I'm surprised I had enough left. It was beautifully moist. I intend to make it again soon. Many Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Simple and delicious! I've made it twice and both times I added a little extra almond flavor. The second time I baked the cake I added a fresh strawberry sauce (recipe follows)to the cake fresh out of the oven. I arranged fresh strawberries on the top of the cake and received many compliments, not only on the look but especially on the taste! INGREDIENTS: 1/2 cup sugar 1/4 cup water 1 tablespoon lemon juice 3 tablespoons butter or margarine 1 pint basket of strawberries, halved DIRECTIONS: In medium skillet mix sugar, water and lemon juice. Stir over medium heat until sugar is dissolved and mixture comes just to boil. Add butter; stir until melted. Mix in strawberries; heat through, but do not cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Li

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This cake was excellent made it a 2 layer cake with butter cream frosting. Batter was a lil runny so just added a lil more flour w/ a dash of baking powder and presto. Will definetly use again, its very tasty and very moist and I know my husband will ask for it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beebe, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

American Flag Cake

Each slice of cake is decorated with an American flag. See the simple trick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States