Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Dense and moist with a good flavor. Made it for a strawberry trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Perfect base for pineapple upside down cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Swan Hills, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I made this cake because it's very easy and i had all the ingredients! I added 1 cup of vanilla yogurt to the batter and it turned out very good! light and airy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Super easy, super delicious! I must admit, I was a little concerned by so many who'd said this didn't rise properly, but I didn't have that problem at all. I made this cake yesteray for my husband for Valentine's Day. Followed the recipe exactly, except I used my heart-shaped layer cake pans (that are supposed to be the same volume as 8" round). I did do one thing which could have aided better rising - I used my Kitchen Aid mixer, and whipped it for several seconds both after adding the eggs, and then again after all ingredients were added. It rose perfectly, made a deliciously moist white cake. (I wonder if those for whom it didn't rise were using either expired baking powder or a margarine product instead of butter?) I wanted a very old-fashioned result, so I used a simple cooked brown sugar icing, and sprinkled some candy hearts around the perimiter of the plate to add "Valentiney-ness" - the result was exactly what I wanted, and my husband (and I) loved it! Thanks to Nany for passing down her fabulous recipe to MeaganColleen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrisDee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Needs more leavening, but taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I've made this cake several time now and it has always come out perfect. i do only make it in a 9x13 pan and do really grease the pan. Instead of grease and flour I use grease and suggar to coat the pan. Delicious moist and dense cake that ready for berries or frosting. Most of the time it is gone before I ever to add anything. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is a fabulous cake!!! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderfully delicious. This is not a light and fluffy cake. It is dense and moist. I baked it in a loaf pan to serve with berries and cream...YUM! We served it at a pre-Independence day lunch...it did not last long. I am in the process of baking another for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
It wouldn't let me review without giving at least one star, but I say, NO stars! It doesn't rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I have used this recipie a lot. I love this cake and so does everybody else. I do add dry cooked vanilla pudding to mine and I also sift 1/2 of the flour and spoon the other 1/2 of the flour into the batter. I do also add a little more baking powder also. This does not get tough or dry and it is not so dense either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
heyyy...i made this cake..and it came out really well.. thank you for the recipe.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States