Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Perfect base for pineapple upside down cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Swan Hills, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I made this cake because it's very easy and i had all the ingredients! I added 1 cup of vanilla yogurt to the batter and it turned out very good! light and airy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Super easy, super delicious! I must admit, I was a little concerned by so many who'd said this didn't rise properly, but I didn't have that problem at all. I made this cake yesteray for my husband for Valentine's Day. Followed the recipe exactly, except I used my heart-shaped layer cake pans (that are supposed to be the same volume as 8" round). I did do one thing which could have aided better rising - I used my Kitchen Aid mixer, and whipped it for several seconds both after adding the eggs, and then again after all ingredients were added. It rose perfectly, made a deliciously moist white cake. (I wonder if those for whom it didn't rise were using either expired baking powder or a margarine product instead of butter?) I wanted a very old-fashioned result, so I used a simple cooked brown sugar icing, and sprinkled some candy hearts around the perimiter of the plate to add "Valentiney-ness" - the result was exactly what I wanted, and my husband (and I) loved it! Thanks to Nany for passing down her fabulous recipe to MeaganColleen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrisDee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Needs more leavening, but taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I've made this cake several time now and it has always come out perfect. i do only make it in a 9x13 pan and do really grease the pan. Instead of grease and flour I use grease and suggar to coat the pan. Delicious moist and dense cake that ready for berries or frosting. Most of the time it is gone before I ever to add anything. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is a fabulous cake!!! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderfully delicious. This is not a light and fluffy cake. It is dense and moist. I baked it in a loaf pan to serve with berries and cream...YUM! We served it at a pre-Independence day lunch...it did not last long. I am in the process of baking another for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
It wouldn't let me review without giving at least one star, but I say, NO stars! It doesn't rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I have used this recipie a lot. I love this cake and so does everybody else. I do add dry cooked vanilla pudding to mine and I also sift 1/2 of the flour and spoon the other 1/2 of the flour into the batter. I do also add a little more baking powder also. This does not get tough or dry and it is not so dense either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
heyyy...i made this cake..and it came out really well.. thank you for the recipe.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Great cake for creating design cakes. It holds together well but I would not split into 2 pans. I did one recipe as is in a bowl and one as is in a 9 in square to make a Mario Bros. 1 up cake for my 5 yr old's Super Mario Birthday. It is a dense cake but that is what I needed. Would also be great with a cream sauce and berries. Really great recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States