Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I was looking for a simple white cake recipe and found this one. I followed the recipe with the exception of using 1/2 cup butter and adding a tsp of almond extract along with the vanilla. The cake turned out fluffy and tasty. This recipe was easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Perfect, simple & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SurvivorRK
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Love this cake... No idea what people were talking about it not rising enough- mine was perfect the couple of times I've made it. In fact, I add an extra egg when stacking (with fruit filling in between) to keep it from falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Far too dense for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgeorge884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
It tasted good cake yet heavy and dense. I can see why she uses it with fruit, but not good for a birthday cake which I used it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
We love this cake!! I wrote the recipe down for my 9 year old daughter to make and bake in her cupcake maker and the are the most delicious cupcakes! Once we didnt have the stuff to make a frosting and the cakes were even delicious without any frosting! Some family came to visit and they normally like store bought cake but they loved this one! Thanks Nany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I was making this for a small party and I was mildly disappointed. I first made one batch of it and it didn't rise enough and it stuck to the pan a little bit. HOWEVER, it tastes very good. It has a good flavor and texture. I wound up making a second batch of it because if I didn't it would only be 1 inch tall. For the second batch, I put a bit more grease in the pan and I used 2.5 teaspoons of baking powder instead of just 2 and it rose more and worked a ton better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
i made this cake a few days ago. i read about people having problems rising and it being dense and several other complaints. first off, i had to make a double batch, because a single batch only filled one and one eighth of an eight inch cake pan. i had no problems with the cake rising whatsoever. i overfilled my pans a little and it came over the top by about a quarter inch. the cake tasted great, but it was so dense that it destroyed how dense you would think a white cake should be. if you dont mind a dense cake, then go ahead,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I tried this and split down for 8" cakes and they cam out real thin. You need to make a double batch and then maybe it would make a thicker cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Best white cake I’ve ever had and not much more work than a cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States