Nany's White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This is a very good and reliable basic white cake, made even better, at least for me, with a couple of small tweaks - 1/2 cup butter rather than 1/3, and 1/2 cup milk rather than the full cup called for. Also, since some reviewers reported this didn't rise as much as they would have liked I felt that, excluding the obvious cause of expired baking powder, perhaps there was too MUCH baking powder, which then could have resulted in the opposite of the desired effect - so I reduced the amount to 1-1/2 tsp. rather than 2 tsp. A pinch of salt for me was 1/4 tsp. I baked these as cupcakes and was very pleased. (To finish them I removed a plug from each cupcake, filled them with strawberry jam, then frosted them with Strawberry Buttercream - sinful)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by KaylaE
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
My husband doesn't eat cake, ever! But when I made him try this he loved it! I topped it with a layer of homemade whipped cream and fresh strawberry sauce. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I made 1 tier so far with this I wish I would of doubled the size to start because it did not fluff up like I wanted but it was the perfect density I was looking for tasted a lil bland I'll be adjusting the vanilla portions but overall quick n easy and had no prob with the cake coming out of the oven either smooth sailing over here just wish I doubled the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I made this cake last week for the first time. Everyone in my house just loved it. I made it again yesterday and it was gone by this morning. If you like a cake that is dense and moist this is the cake you need to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
It was super simple and it tasted delicious. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I needed a white cake that would be able to hold a serious chocolate frosting so I looked around and spotted this one. Read some of the reviews and gave it a go. Now, my mother always told me sour cream makes a good cake great, so I did add a cup of sour cream to this recipe. The sour cream in combination with everything in the recipe is perfect. Just perfect. It tastes phenominal, the cake is moist yet it is robust enough to hold gobs of super heavy frosting, so its great for birthdays and special occasion decorating. Thank you for sharing! A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Just found this recipe last night and had to make it today. I love these old fashioned cakes like I made when I was very young. They still taste the best to me. I let my KA cream the butter and sugar for 3 or 4 minutes, then beat well after each egg was added. The texture of this cake is so light, certainly not dense or heavy. I frosted this cake with fudgy frosting and it is delicious. Thanks, Megan, for a great recipe that will be made often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
My kids and I made this cake last night. It looked like something easy for them to help me with, and it was. We followed the recipe exactly, then added milk chocolate chips. The chips, of course, all sank to the bottom (I thought they would). The cake was delicious! We didn't frost it, but I did serve it with vanilla ice cream. My mother used to make a "one-egg cake," and this was similar, but with a stronger vanilla flavor. The cake was on the dense side, but was very moist. I plan to use this recipe again, and I also want to try making it into a marble cake. I've stopped buying boxed cake mixes, so this recipe is definitely going into my binder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I was looking for a simple white cake recipe and found this one. I followed the recipe with the exception of using 1/2 cup butter and adding a tsp of almond extract along with the vanilla. The cake turned out fluffy and tasty. This recipe was easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Perfect, simple & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

American Flag Cake

Each slice of cake is decorated with an American flag. See the simple trick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States