Nanny's Steamed Cranberry Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Really nice - used an antique pudding mold and did not have time for the sauce (used storebought - ugh), but the pudding is delightful. Coarsely chopping the cranberries helps distribute the flavor. Perfect ending to Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galley Wench

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Very good! Next time I make it I'll only steam it for 1 hr. and 45 minutes. I went the full 2 hours and it seemed alittle over cooked to me. But, it was great. Thanks you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Delicious pudding. This worked very well in a traditional pudding form. I noticed some of the reviewers had problems with the sauce. I assume that is due to the wording "1 cup sweetened whipped cream". I believe this should read "1 cup whipping cream" which is then to be added to the slightly browned butter-sugar mixture and THEN boiled. Evaporated milk may be substituted for the cream, which lends a very delicious flavor....and this coming from a cream-lover! Without a liquid, the butter-sugar mass will simply scorch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This was unbelievable. I wowed my entire extended family at Christmas dinner with this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly -well, I coarsely chopped the crans first to spread out the tartness a bit- and it came out perfectly. The caramel sauce was amazing, it will be my new standard for sure (mine crystalized, but I just stirred in more cream to smooth it out.) Pretty much everyone who has tried this has asked me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Absolutely the best dessert I have ever had. I pick fresh cranberries every year and can't believe how delicious this was. I took this to work and everyone asked for the recipe. I'll make it again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
The cranberry pudding was great. The sauce didn't turn out. I will try it again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Helen
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is very easy to make, only used 1/4 teaspoon numeg and added 1 teaspoon vanilla. Only boiled for 1 1/2 hours and was enough time. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I had to steam this well beyond the 2 hours, unfortunately, but I don't think that was due to any fault on the recipe's part. I will make this again but, the next time, I will definitely add more fruit and omit the nutmeg in favour of either more cinnamon or perhaps some mixed spice as I'm not a big fan of nutmeg and I found it a bit dominant in this recipe. In addition, the cranberries, although I had floured them, all migrated to the top of the basin whilst cooking which resulted in a rather uneven distribution of fruit throughout the pudd. As for the sauce, I incorporated a 1/2 cup of double cream right into the sugar mixture before carefully reducing it to the consistency of a hard sauce. The thick, exceedingly rich butterscotch of the sauce complimented the pudding perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I chose this recipe over the other cranberry puddings because of the ingredients - especially the cinnamon and nutmeg. We love nutmeg, but 1 tsp. is WAY too much - will reduce to 1/4 tsp. next time. Also experienced same problem as previous reviewer - my cranberries were clustered in the center. Using a pudding mold instead of a casserole will probably solve this problem. Will place a rack in bottom of stock pot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States