Nannie's Hot Milk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I took others advised by using only 1 cup of sugar, adding 1/3 cup of milk and 1/4 cup of margarine (instead of butter) to the milk. I made 2 batch, 1 with white milk and the other one with cocholate milk. Both turned out wonderfully moist and very flavorful. Very easy for such a great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIEKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I agree with all the comments that say to halve the sugar. I used 1 + 1/3 cups sugar and the cake came out really well. My first sponge cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkybutton

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn-Faith
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
A simple, light cake. I used 1 & 1/3 cups sugar, and dusted it with powdered sugar once it was cooled. Served with raspberry sauce. For an almost fat free cake, this was very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn-Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Valley, California, USA
Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Pretty good fresh out of the oven, not so good once it cools...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I MADE THIS FOR A TRIFLE AND IT WAS PERFECT.I USED 8 EGG WHITES AS I CANNOT EAT THE YOLK AND USED SOYA MILK.I'M DELIGHTED I NOW CAN HAVE A DECENT TRIFLE AGAIN THANK U!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rainie
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Thanks for a great recipe~ This cake turned out fantastic!!! I have never made a successful cake from scratch until I tried this recipes. I reduced the sugar, added chocolate chips and baked it in a loaf pan. It turned out great~ this is definitely one of my favourite recipes now. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rainie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I was a bit disappointed - I followed the recipe exactly but I should have halved the sugar; it was way too sweet. Also, I found 40 minutes wasn't long enough to cook the centre (toothpick didn't come out clean) so I had to cook it for another 10 minutes. The result was a cooked centre but a really chewy 'crust'. I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I agree with other reviewers, it's not really light and fluffy, a bit disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
mmmm! Very good! I halved the recipe and was still able to make a dozen cupcake versions of this. I just baked for 30 minutes. I did tweak it by adding a couple teaspoons of instant coffee, cocoa, and butter to the hot milk and it made somewhat of a mocha version. I did find that it was a little sweet for my taste though so maybe I will try only half or 3/4 of the sugar next time. But still a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DVINEGRACE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
i halved this recipe and baked it in two batches. this sponge tastes quite good but was a little rubbery. the crust that formed on top was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States