Nannie's Hot Milk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I love this recipe - it's a definite favourite at our house, and I've made it quite a few times now...totally love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRIAM_200

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This didn't work for me. I cut sugar back to 1C as others recommended; that was the only change. It came out dense, heavy and without much taste. I believe that 40 minutes was too long a cooking time. If I were to try this recipe again I would check it after 20-25 minutes. We ate it with lots of fruit sauce, but I tossed the remainder away. Will look for another hot milk cake recipe until I get one that works for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
The texture came out rubbery and too egg-like. Not at all light or fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Excellent cake! Really good and easy to make. Quick and the ingredients are things you always have on hand. Love it with berries and whipping cream. An excellent spring-picnic-everyone-brings-something cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
i'm always looking for low-fat desserts and this is excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
As per previous reviews, I only used 1 cup of sugar, and added a little more milk ( 1/3 cup instead of 1/4 ). Delicious and fluffy looking cake. Cutting down the sugar is absolutely necessary. Loved the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
People shouldn't critize the recipe if they have changed it in any way or form. The unsatisfication may be caused by their own modifications. I personally really liked this cake. And I followed the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Not a bad cake, but it didn't fit the description of light and fluffy. In fact, it was rather dense and eggy. Could be because I 3/4'd the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I made this using soy milk so that might be the problem. I didn't like this at all. It was very eggy tasting and had a rubbery texture- not light and fluffy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rikjog

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
easy to make and very good - though it came out very sweet. next time i think i'll cut the sugar in half like the others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States