Nannie's Hot Milk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
DELICIOUS!!! I followed the recipe to a T except I added 1/4 cup butter to the milk while heating (this was how my father always made it, and he was taught by his neighbor's grandmother). This made it moist, but still incredibly light. I baked it in two round pans for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. I made a chocolate ganache with 1 cup of half and half and 8 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate and, after allowing it to cool for a minute, spread that on top. DELICIOUS DELICIOUS DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Easy with good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
For me it turned out quite dense and not light & fluffy but I used a 9X13 pan. By itself it wasn't to my liking coz it tasted bland. I still used it for my trifle dessert inspite of my reservations and it turned out great with all the whipped cream, pudding & gelatin I placed on top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly and it did not come out how I expected it to AT ALL. I used a 12 inch tube pan for the cake. When i took it out, the inside was not cooked at all... the batter was still liquid! Only the outsides of the cake was fully cooked. I had to scoop out the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I made this exactly as stated and think it's a nice, simple, comfort-food type basic cake. The texture is very appealing, light and fluffy, surprisingly similar to angel food only more tender and less rubbery. I thought sponge cake had a different texture, larger air pockets in it, this one is finely textured. This would be super with strawberries and real whipped cream. I am serving it for a child's birthday sandwiched with stabilized whipped cream to resemble a ... (should I reveal this) ... giant twinkie, what the party boy requested. Unfortunately it's not yellow like a twinkie, but tastes much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This is the first time i've made sponge cake and i would have to say it turned out great!. I halved the recipe, but also reduced the sugar because a 1:1 sugar flour mixture seemed too sweet. i also added an extra egg because i like my cakes really eggy. The best part about this recipe is that there is no butter! as it is a sponge cake. It seems like something is missing though, maybe a little salt? I will try this again with some salt and maybe reduce the sugar a little more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I am rewriting this review, because I've made this recipe again, in round cake pans, and it was fabulous. As mentioned, I did butter and flour the pans, but also cut the layers to add raspberry jam and whipped cream. When I sliced it I used a bread knife because it is rather delicate. Everyone went crazy for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lenox, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Housatonic, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Like an angel food cake but with less sugar and less hassel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I read the reviews and then decided to make it exactly as stated in the recipe and I am glad I did. I wouldn't change a thing - this is a delicious and easy to make cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Follow this recipe to a "t" and it will be a hit at your next party! I made this cake for my friend. it was for her 50th birthday, it was in intrical part of what is called "Fru-Fru Cake" here in Buffalo, NY...it turned out simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States