Nannie's Hot Milk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
a perfect sponge cake...but you have to put only half the amount of the sugar (1 cup) in order to make it a perfect hot milk sponge cake...love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.Tidea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I LOVE this recipe. It makes a light, delicious, versatile cake. I made it without changing it at all and have made it many times since. Can be served with fruit, chocolate, cream - whatever you wish. It is also delicious plain. Thank you for posting such an easy, classic dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUKEY2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This is a great cake IF you eat it straight from the oven while its still piping hot. I made these into little rose flavoured cup cakes and the taste was great. They were absolutely delicious, fresh from the oven. HOWEVER, when they cooled down, they sank and became rubbery like many reviewers said. They are still yummy but my heart sank along with the cake when I ate it in the morning. Nice base cake but not airy or spongy when cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENISM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This was very easy to make! I baked it in a square pan and it came out perfect. It looked really cute when I cut it in little squares :D. I also added a bit more milk and less sugar, but it really depends on your own taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TahiraLativa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Super simple. We love it for strawberry shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I really wanted to like this, but it just didn't work for me even after making it twice. The first time, I used cake flour...it didnt rise much and was dense. The 2nd time, I followed the instructions carefully and it was VERY dense...wasn't springy at all. Sorry...I had to throw it out. I don't know, it might've been my fault but I've been baking cakes for awhile now. I might try it again but will have to tweak it definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azzilann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I followed others' suggestions and reduced the sugar to a cup, otherwise following the recipe as is. I really enjoy the flavor, but I agree with those who said it came out a little rubbery. It wasn't light or spongy like I hoped it might be. It's pretty good, but because of the texture I doubt I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Really Good! I made it this afternoon, and we has strawberry shortcake with it! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
it was wonderful i baked it in a bundt pot and it was baked perfectly i didnt change a thing i felt that it wasnt thick enough but it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This recipe is delicious and so simple to make. The cake bakes up terrific in a tube pan. The crust comes out crunchy/chewy/sweet like the top of a muffin. The cake has good vanilla flavor and holds together nicely. It would go great with fresh fruit and ice cream. Would like to add other flavors to this recipe like lemon or orange. But wonder if I should use extracts or juice/zest?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States