Nannie's Hot Milk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by etka3646
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
A very good cake! Followed the recipe exactly, and put mocha icing on afterward. Sugar fiend on the loose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etka3646

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
A little too sweet for me, i would reduce the sugar.. maybe 1.5 cups or even just 1 cup. Other than that its really good. I added 1 TBS canola oil, it made it really moist, light & fluffy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Grease the pan! I thought that since this was compared to angel food cake, and since the recipe did not state this, you didn't need to grease the pan. Grease the pan! :) I used half the amount of sugar. Great with strawberries (with sugar and the juice that comes from that) and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Bryan Willingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
It was delicious! I made cream cheese frosting and put that on top of the cake....it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I made a serving for 7 as a trial batch. My family enjoyed it very much! I did however cut the sugar by 3/4ths, and added 1/4th in honey. I added a small amount of butter to the milk as someone suggested, and a pinch of salt to the batter. To make things a little more exciting I added dried cranberries and processed some walnuts for a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FALLACY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I made this exactly like the recipe stated and it turned out fabulously!! I made this for my mom's b-day cake and everyone loved it. I made it in two 9 inch rounds and did it as layer cake with whipping cream and fresh fruit in the middle. I did use a buttercream icing for the sides and top but that was far too sweet. The unanimous vote is to make it as two 9 inch cakes and top each cake with whip cream and fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
very good tasting! we lived it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dasha chernova

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Easy, tasty, fun to make. I don't have a loaf pan so I made half the recipe (w/ half the sugar) in a cast iron skillet. Topped with strawberry glaze. Turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I followed the suggestions but the batter turned out very runny. Tasted like baking powder and turned out very dense. I must have done something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carole Ann
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I thought this recipe was delightful. Loved the flavor (especially after cutting down the sugar to just over a cup, which was plenty), but the texture was a little too dense for the strawberry shortcake I was making. Still, it was very simple and relatively fast. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States