Nannie's Hot Milk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Good flavor. Not lite and airy like I expected. It was a little chewy. I added 2 T butter with the milk. Next time I will not use any butter and whip the eggs more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I've made this twice now. The first time I followed the general consensus that 2 cups of sugar was "too sweet," and only used one cup. I put them in the Nordicware mini basket pan. They turned out great. They were somewhat more dense than a true sponge cake, but the texture was really good for the berries I put on it. Some people commented that it wasn't as tender as they expected. That is one of the consequences of reducing the sugar. Sugar makes cakes lighter and more tender. If you change the proportions it's going to change the texture too, not just the flavor. Word to the wise. This time I made it exactly as written. It was much more sponge-like and tender (almost too tender). I might split the difference next time and use 1 and 1/2 cups sugar. I bake at 5500 ft, so that probably contributed to the problems I had with the lighter texture. (Mine actually collapsed a little; I haven't had a cake collapse in years.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maddy1011
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I tried to make this and it didn't come out and I don't know why? I followed the directions and did what I was suppose to do.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I had to bake this cake for 30 minutes longer than the recipe calls for and it still came out mushy (not moist, mushy). There is so much sugar that it formed a crust on top. I would look for a different recipe next time or significantly alter this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I was craving something sweet one night and I came across this recipe. I made it with just a bit more milk. When it was done I cut it into cubes, added some strawberry sauce I made and put vanilla mango frozen yogurt on top. Gave it to the whole family as dessert and everyone loved it :) My sister in law especially, she loved how spongy the cake was and kept picking at the leftovers. :) A great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tsukiya
Home Town: Hamden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by starrynite
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
The first time didn't come out right--it was too dense, but it still tasted good. I tried it again and make sure I whipped the eggs long enough, and it came out really nice! I also followed other reviewers' suggestions--reduced sugar to 1 cup and added 1/4 cup of butter to milk. It has just enough sweetness and goes well with whipped cream and fruits and even with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starrynite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I couldn't resist adding 1/4 cup butter. Though the tradeoff was the cake wouldn't rise as it should but I'd prefer the buttery and moist cake anytime. I whipped the egg whites seperately and gentlely folded it in to make the cake light. Also, I reduced the sugar to 180 g and added 1/4 tsp salt. Lining the cake pan with baking paper helped the cake come out from the pan so easily. Thank you for the crazy good yet simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Wasn't light :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inuyashacake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This cake is a lovely golden brown at exactly forty minutes in the oven. It is, however, too dense for a sponge. The egg whites and yolks should be separated first, to make it lighter. Also, I reduced the sugar by a forth of a cup, added another teaspoonful of vanilla extract, used brown sugar instead and made a chocolate ganache as another reviewer recommended. Do add the one forth cup of butter as it helps greatly. The end result should be a delicious golden brown cake which smells like vanilla and caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I find the cake a little dense and chewy instead of light and fluffy as a sponge cake should be, however, it still tastes great. I added a pinch of salt to the batter as advised by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States