Nanna's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This recipe is the BEST!!! I've been making banana bread for years, and never seemed just right. UNTIL NOW!! Awesome, moist, flavorful..I didn't have buttermilk~so I used 1/2C of milk & 1/2tsp of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCKimmy
Home Town: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Way to go Nanna! I am always looking for the better banana bread recipe and this one was WONDERFUL! I needed to use up some bananas and I also had buttermilk in the fridge that was going to waste so this worked great for me. I made the recipe as stated except for using brown sugar instead of white. I added 4 small bananas and made 2 small loaves instead of 1 large. I put walnuts in one loaf and choc. chips in the other and they were both great. It took about 35min for the smaller loaves to bake. YUM! I plan to use this recipe from now on. Thanks for a keeper.:P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This banana bread is SO wonderful, very moist and sweet. I doubled the amount of bananas but did everything else just as written. No one in my family likes nuts, so we went with the chocolate chips. I used the mini chocolate chips because they stay suspended in the batter better and you don't end up with just chocolate chips on the bottom. Will definitely be making again...and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raad123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Good recipe, soft bread, not too sweet, I did not have buttermilk so used 1/2 cup regular milk with one tsp of white vinegar added to it. Will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I put 4 bananas in and it was still not bananaish enough for us. Good texture though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
i have tried countless recipes for banana bread and have never been happy with any of them!! This is the first one i have tried that i love..i will be putting this in my recipe box,,it is awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
i didn't have any buttermilk so i substituted it for the same amount of peach yogurt. I didn't feel like digging up a loaf pan either so i put it into a 9x13 jelly roll pan and cooked it for about 20 minutes, and it came out amaaazing and super moist. definitely making this again! instead of blending the ingredients together i just mashed the bananas into a plastic bag and cut a corner to squeeze it out; saves some dishes to clean and it was still yummyyy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I changed a few things...I did not put the bananas in a blender I just mashed them. Then I only used 3/4 cup of sugar. The vanilla I put one tablespoon and one teaspoon of rum flavor extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrae, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Made this with chocolate chips instead of walnuts as suggested and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This recipe was ok, but I have made better banana bread. There isn't much banana flavor just mostly bread like with cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States