Nanna's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Delicious! I've made it twice, and it turned out great both times although my oven required me to bake it for 70 minutes. The first time I made it exactly as the recipes says to (although I omitted the nuts) so that I could fairly judge the recipe. The second time, I made a few changes -- I beat the bananas/liquids in the mixer until smooth rather than in the blender; added an extra banana for more flavour; and added 2/3cup chocolate chips. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Excellent recipe!!!!! Makes tasty and moist banana bread. I especially like it because it only calls for 2 bananas, I never seem to have 3 ripe ones for some reason. Only change I made was I used 1/2 cup light vanilla yogurt instead of buttermilk. It makes it even more moist (and I never have buttermilk on hand). Next time ill try applesauce instead of oil like others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I've made this banana bread over and over. Sometimes as a bread, most often as muffins (for the portability factor). It's awesome! I usually add a third ripe banana (making it 3 bananas instead of 2) and some semi-sweet chocolate chips (usually a cup). I often use olive oil (as I don't normally have vegetable oil) and it turns out great. I can make a double recipe and it still doesn't last long around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This is an absolute winner! So easy to make with very little prep involved. I added more walnuts and about 1/2 cup of pounded macadamia nuts to the mix too. Just awesome! The smell of this cooking wafted throughout the house and really hammered-home that fall feeling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beeskinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I Love this, great texture and freezes well. no other better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This was great bread, even though I overcooked it. I added 1.5 tsp of pumpkin pie spice for added yum, and I did not have any buttermilk so I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I love this bread, one of the best,...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rich4kc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This is my new 'go to' recipe for banana bread. It comes out great every time! We omit the nuts due to an allergy here, but otherwise use the recipe as is. Good stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
So delicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I subbed applesauce for the oil like some other reviewers, and I don't know if that made the difference, but this bread was overly moist, it was kind of gross. I am all for a moist bread, but this was lacking typical banana bread texture. I dont know how to describe it, other than it was more like the consistency of the brown bread you can buy in a can? Not what I was expecting. I also added chocolate chips, but they all sank to the bottom. I would probably dust them with flour if I made again. The batter was so liquidy I feel like anything that I put in would sink anyway. The taste was not bad...but I just could not get over the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States