Nanna's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
This was an excellent recipe. The cinnamon really added extra flavor. I used 3 large bananas for more banana flavor and used 1/4 tsp of salt. This bread did not last long!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Made this last night-only a little piece left. I had to use up 3 bananas, also used 1/2 cup white sugar 1/4 cup brown sugar, and 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup applesauce. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I have made this recipe several times w/ the chocolate chips, and it always comes out perfect. Plus it never last too long because my family and I love it so much. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Whenever I make this, people want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAUCYSAGA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Manukau, Auckland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
UPDATE: 12/18/11 This is my go-to banana bread recipe. it is always super moist without being gummy, and is always a great way to use up buttermilk and those dark bananas. the darker the banana, the bigger the flavor. perfect recipe when wanting to use up bananas and buttermilk. The flavor and texture were superb. I added 1 extra banana, replaced applesauce for the oil, and 1/2 tsp. salt. They were wonderfully moist with a great banana flavor. I think 3 bananas is the way to go...most recipes call for 3 ripe ones. I didn't have nuts or choc. chips but had butterscotch chips. Oh wow! These really made the recipe. The combination of flavors was great. 1 tsp. of cinnamon is just enough to add a layer of flavor...it enhances the bananas and does not overpower. Because the batter is nice and thick, nuts or chips won't sink to the bottom. Came out beautifully golden brown. Made these into muffins and made 18.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Family & friends gave this a thumb's up! Instead of 1 large loaf, I made 9 miniloaves which only takes 25 minutes to bake. I was a bit generous with the cinnamon. Overall hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I added 4 bananas instead of two and also included 1/2 tsp of cardamom. This by far, was the best banana bread I have ever made!! It came out quite moist and just oozing with goodness!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Oh my! This recipe is pure banana bread goodness. I did not have any buttermilk so I just used the 2% milk I had on hand--it's late night and I was desperate. This is THE best banana bread I have ever had. This one is a definite keeper. I am going to gather all of my other banana bread recipes, set them alight and dance around them. Thank you soooooooo much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIOUXZEEQUEUE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I tried using several banana bread recipes to get the moist banana bread i wanted. I used this recipe and it came out exactly how i wanted it!! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
My mother has declared this the best banana bread she's ever had. I substitute brown sugar for white and either use 2 large bananas or 3 small. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States