Nanna's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
Tried this recipe using the chocolate chips instead of walnuts...turned out a very tasty, moist bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
Cinnamon added a new twist to this recipe. Disappointed that the bread didn't have more of a banana flavor. Hint: add black walnut flavoring to nuts the night before to get a REAL black walnut taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMHUGHES
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
This was an excellent recipe. The cinnamon really added extra flavor. I used 3 large bananas for more banana flavor and used 1/4 tsp of salt. This bread did not last long!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
Came out very moist and very good. I made the chocolate chip variation, which went well with the banana and cinnamon flavors. I like that it uses just two bananas, which is usually how many overly ripe bananas I end up with out of a bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
definitely one of the better banana bread recipes i've tried from this site. i only had soymilk on hand and i had no walnuts and vanilla so i omitted those. i also cut the sugar and oil in half but i didn't notice much difference in the taste--maybe just not as sweet. i also added a third banana as someone suggested. and i mixed it by hand and the bread turned out just fine. the cinnamon adds a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I have made this recipe several times w/ the chocolate chips, and it always comes out perfect. Plus it never last too long because my family and I love it so much. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Whenever I make this, people want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAUCYSAGA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Manukau, Auckland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
UPDATE: 12/18/11 This is my go-to banana bread recipe. it is always super moist without being gummy, and is always a great way to use up buttermilk and those dark bananas. the darker the banana, the bigger the flavor. perfect recipe when wanting to use up bananas and buttermilk. The flavor and texture were superb. I added 1 extra banana, replaced applesauce for the oil, and 1/2 tsp. salt. They were wonderfully moist with a great banana flavor. I think 3 bananas is the way to go...most recipes call for 3 ripe ones. I didn't have nuts or choc. chips but had butterscotch chips. Oh wow! These really made the recipe. The combination of flavors was great. 1 tsp. of cinnamon is just enough to add a layer of flavor...it enhances the bananas and does not overpower. Because the batter is nice and thick, nuts or chips won't sink to the bottom. Came out beautifully golden brown. Made these into muffins and made 18.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Family & friends gave this a thumb's up! Instead of 1 large loaf, I made 9 miniloaves which only takes 25 minutes to bake. I was a bit generous with the cinnamon. Overall hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I added 4 bananas instead of two and also included 1/2 tsp of cardamom. This by far, was the best banana bread I have ever made!! It came out quite moist and just oozing with goodness!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States