Nanna's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
In my recipe, I add 3 tblsp of vanilla; 3 tblsp of cinnamon; 4-5 bananas; 1/4C veg.oil (no milk; 3 eggs & was told my many, many folks & friends that mine was the best-ever made & tasted...I also add 2-3tblsp of Hershey's unsweet'd dark choc. (in can), which is optional...YES! Nana's recipe is good, but I have to stick with tried & true as my mom made for at least 50+ yrs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Great recipe,made a few changes but it turned out great,I added 1/2 a cup of dried figs,chop them into bite size pieces.added a 400gm milk chocolate bar chopped up....yum:) it's a great recipe:))thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fauzia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Very moist. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
awesome!! I added crasins (cranberries) to the mix WORKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I love Great Harvest Bread Company's banana chocolate chip bread and this recipe is as close as I have come to replicating it. It has a light banana flavor, which I prefer, and is dense and rich. The half cup chocolate chips was enough for me, but you may want to add more if you like a good amount of chocolate. I did not use a blender. I just put the two whole bananas in my KitchenAid and mashed them before adding the remaining wet ingredients and sugar. Worked great! Will be making this recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I used melted butter and coconut sugar. Super moist and not too heavy. I'd use oil as a last resort because butter makes everything better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I needed to use up some buttermilk & bananas so I did an ingredient search and came up with this recipe. I made it exactly as written (please people with the healthy substitutions-if I wanted healthy I wouldn't make a sweet bread!). I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because there was not quite enough banana flavor. I think if 1 additional banana were added it would be a 5 star. The texture is nice and fine (but not soggy) and the spices are just right. I think using the blender instead of a mixer added to the fine texture. I did have to bake it for an additional 8 minutes but that may be because I used a glass loaf pan instead of metal (or maybe my oven is off a bit). BTW, don't forget the vanilla - it's listed in the ingredients but not in the instructions. I added to the blender mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Perfect recipe - loved it!!! Super moist, super yummy!! I added 3 bananas instead of 2 but followed exactly. Definitely a keeper!! The family loved it - thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I have been baking this for years so glad I found it.I have requests for it all the time. I am not a fan of banana bread but I will eat this one. The cinnamon makes the difference. I do add more banana then the recipe calls for. I am well known for my banana bread now. I do fess up and give the source of my success and often print the recipe from the site and give with the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, Maine, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I really like this recipe. I did add a touch more banana and it def. took more than 55-60 min. I had to go out so I shut off oven and opened the door a little and it was perfect when I came home. I like the raise of the bread and the moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States