Nancy's Chocolate Fudge Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Used flour and this started to thicken up very quickly - you will want to stir continually to make sure it doesn't get away from you. I used boxed milk that wasn't chilled and this could have been part of the reason for it starting to thicken so quickly. I will add just a little more sugar the next time I make it as it was slightly bitter for our taste. I also put everything in a blender and mixed it up before I put it in the pan to begin cooking as had been done by another reviewer and I think it helped in the cooking. I didn't have butter flavor so added a little extra butter at the end and a little extra vanilla. This turned out to be a nice, firm, good tasting pie filling! Grandma Deb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I did not enjoy the filling. In fact I added 2 Hershey's chocolate bars to get rid of the flour taste. I made it exactly as written and unfortunately could not follow many of the reviews stating to use corn starch because my sister-in-law is allergic to corn. I will be trying a new recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I used 3 TBSP corn starch instead of 6 TBSP flour. I also used 3/4 cup sugar and sweetened it the rest of the way to my liking with honey. I used no margarine or butter extract, only real butter. I topped with whipped cream after I put a slice on my plate. Must be refrigerated for 3 hours or more to not have a pudding consistency when you eat it. If you use a deep dish pie crust, yes, you will need to double the recipe. I just used a normal 9" pie crust, and it was the perfect amount. My favorite chocolate pie ever! I keep making it now I am so addicted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Texture undesirable, but taste was good. Removed from stove top once it got consistency of pudding; however when I refrigerated it, it never got more firm. Problematic when 'cutting b/c it becomes a challenge to remove slice. Added a wee bit more sugar and more margarine since didn't have butter flavored extract, otherwise followed most of directions as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This pie is quite tasty. I give it 4 stars as the recipe doesn't have a lot of directions. I too, prefer to use cornstarch. It's quicker. When using cornstarch you need only bring to a boil & boil gently for 1 full minute. Longer than that, filling will go back to thin. When using flour, after coming to a boil, it really needs a gentle boil for at least 4 min. to make sure there isn't a uncooked taste. Something I do, makes for a smooth filling. I put all ingredients in a blender & blend till smooth, than cook. This way there is absolutely no pieces of cooked egg. I omit the egg tempering stage by putting ingredients in the blender. (which isn't listed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
The filling is as a chocolate pie be. Rich, thick, deeply chocolate. It MUST be strained before you put it in the shell because it gets lumpy very easily. THen, when you apply the meringue and DONT BAKE IT, it becomes a sloppy, drippy, sticky, nasty mess. Who doesn't bake a pie after you add the meringue? I had doubts about this recipe buy my rule is you make every recipe exactly at least once and THEN you can start making changes. THe recipe says, TOP WITH THE MERINGUE OF YOUR CHOICE. Nothing about baking the pie after that. It was a disaster for the 12 people I had for dinner. The only reason I gave it any starts is because the flavor of the filling is decadent but this recipe needs LOTS of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I did make a few changes 1. I used almost 4 TBS. Cornstarch instead of the flour 2. I omited the butter flavoring and used one and a half TBS. of real butter which also omitted the margarine. I added the butter and vanilla while it was cooking and I stired it consistantly until thickend.... Simply wonderful!!!! Thanks for sharing :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I didn't eat any, but my family did, and the overall opinion they gave me would be four stars. It did look delicious though. I used a graham cracker crust that made it twice as tempting.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Filling was good, but not enough. Next time I will double the recipe for 1 pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I'd give it five stars for taste, but the directions are alarmingly vague. The only way I know of to get a meringue on top of a pie is to bake it on, but the recipe says nothing about this, and when I did the fudge part liquified underneath the meringue. I put it in the refrigerator hoping it would solidify, and the meringue detatched from the crust and began floating. After a day in the fridge, the filling is still pretty runny. The whole mess tastes great, but the presentation leaves something to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States