Nancy's Chicken in Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This was a good recipe that got me thinking so I ended up making a bunch of changes to this recipe. I fried the chicken in some olive oil with spices. Then I added another 4oz of cream cheese and mixed thawed frozen spinach into it. I put the spinach and chicken onto the pastry shell and rolled it. WARNING: It does take longer to cook than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COACHINGVOLLEYBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Oh my! Is this ever good. Will be making again. My husband LOVED it. Nothing to change here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpgFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Added shredded gouda on top of cream cheese. So good! Baked 30 Min. at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by t_jones
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This was great. I actually marinated my chicken breast the day ahead I also cut into bite size peices . I added shredded gouda to the cream cheese and chives. VERY tasty. My only porblem was with the bottom of the puff pastry getting a little soggy, still very good ! Like others suggested I cooked longer then specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
The children and I thought this was delicious. However, my husband peeled off the puff pastry and picked at the chicken. I gave the recipe 4 stars because it is good. However, because of the extra work involved with the puff pastry, will probably save it for impressing company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Easy. However, I cooked the chicken completely before "stuffing the pastry" and the pastry is what needed the extra cooking time, no less than 15 minutes, but probably more. I added mushrooms, Yummy! Overall good, not quite a 5, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Based on previous reviews, I baked longer (30 min)- at a lower temp (375) and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. I served it with Mushroom Rice from this site. I saved a little extra shallots, minced garlic and mushrooms from that recipe for the chicken. I cooked the garlic an shallots briefly and then added the chicken on top. Just as the chicken was finishing, I threw in the mushrooms. I used the mushrooms to make a bed for the chicken on the puff pastry and then added cream cheese with fine herbs. FANTASTIC MEAN! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This dish sounded like a nice recipe for a quiet, romantic dinner. Unfortunately, 12-15 minutes isn't even close to long enough to cook the chicken breasts. Even after browning, when they're wrapped in the pastry they take a good 40 minutes to cook through. Everything else was cold by the time they were done - not to mention they were somewhat flavorless. A let down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States