Nancy's Chicken in Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This was a good recipe that got me thinking so I ended up making a bunch of changes to this recipe. I fried the chicken in some olive oil with spices. Then I added another 4oz of cream cheese and mixed thawed frozen spinach into it. I put the spinach and chicken onto the pastry shell and rolled it. WARNING: It does take longer to cook than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COACHINGVOLLEYBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Oh my! Is this ever good. Will be making again. My husband LOVED it. Nothing to change here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpgFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Added shredded gouda on top of cream cheese. So good! Baked 30 Min. at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by t_jones
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This was great. I actually marinated my chicken breast the day ahead I also cut into bite size peices . I added shredded gouda to the cream cheese and chives. VERY tasty. My only porblem was with the bottom of the puff pastry getting a little soggy, still very good ! Like others suggested I cooked longer then specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
The children and I thought this was delicious. However, my husband peeled off the puff pastry and picked at the chicken. I gave the recipe 4 stars because it is good. However, because of the extra work involved with the puff pastry, will probably save it for impressing company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Easy. However, I cooked the chicken completely before "stuffing the pastry" and the pastry is what needed the extra cooking time, no less than 15 minutes, but probably more. I added mushrooms, Yummy! Overall good, not quite a 5, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Based on previous reviews, I baked longer (30 min)- at a lower temp (375) and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. I served it with Mushroom Rice from this site. I saved a little extra shallots, minced garlic and mushrooms from that recipe for the chicken. I cooked the garlic an shallots briefly and then added the chicken on top. Just as the chicken was finishing, I threw in the mushrooms. I used the mushrooms to make a bed for the chicken on the puff pastry and then added cream cheese with fine herbs. FANTASTIC MEAN! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This dish sounded like a nice recipe for a quiet, romantic dinner. Unfortunately, 12-15 minutes isn't even close to long enough to cook the chicken breasts. Even after browning, when they're wrapped in the pastry they take a good 40 minutes to cook through. Everything else was cold by the time they were done - not to mention they were somewhat flavorless. A let down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States