Nana's Tea Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
These are fabulous. They are cakes...NOT a cookie graced with either a very delicate whipped icing (store bought will is unsatisfactory), and/or fruit/whole or preserve. (flour should be self rising not all purpose though) They are not to be dipped in tea, but sip-bite as with cuisine and good wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
These were not good. At best, they were bland. I just baked a batch, and even frosted they taste bad enough that I'm going to have to have my husband swing me by the grocery store to buy cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
These cookies are very bland and mealy in texture. I did substitute butter for half of the shortening, hoping to bring up the flavor, but no luck. Perhaps with some icing they would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Nana's tea cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This is a great recipe. I tinkered with it, but it is a wonderful basic sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
Eating these tea cakes was like chewing on cardboard. Eating them with tea was like chewing on wet cardboard. I can not see how these cakes could be deemed edible. The seagulls at the beach wouldn't even look at them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
these cookies where wonderfull. My mother loved them. She wasn't feeling well so i baked them myself. I'm only 13 and i love to cook. Everyone likes these cookies. They are so light and flakey. Who ever gave u this recipe really knows how to cook. Thank u for sharing it with us. ~~Miranda~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
I did this recipe as a drop cookie and they came out alright. This is the first time I've ever baked sugar cookies, so I have nothing to compare it to, but it was a nice and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
Exactly what I was looking for in a sugar cookie, soft, fluffy, easy and most of all tasty! Not too sweet, perfect for tea/coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States