Nana's Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
this recipient is amazing!!!I used a lot of butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is one is a keeper. I have fiddled with the recipe to make it a little healthier. Cut back on butter to 1/4 cp. ( and I will try to cut even more) and used replaced with Smart Balance. Of course one of the tricks with Cbread is to preheat your iron skillet so the batter sizzles when added to pan. be sure to have a good coating of oil, butter or whatever, (if butter it will burn if you don't add it right before the batter. I do saute the onion and celery prior to adding for this recipe and cook the squash in chicken broth. instead of cm of whatever soup I use half and half, have added buttermilk to the mix and that is good too, with ck broth or bullion to flavor.... It seems time consuming but so much can be done before hand and them just assembled prior to baking.....It is on my top hummmmm.....15 or so recipes for a dependable crowd pleaser and comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jacq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Marion, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I didn't change anything in the recipe. It's a lot like my nana's cornbread dressing that she used to make every Thanksgiving. I am in love with this recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is a very comforting dish. I will say you do need more squash. I think 4 cups would do best. I also used extra soup by accident(used whole can) and I used Campbell's Cream of Chicken w/Herbs(didn't have plain on hand). This worked well. For the cornbread I used Pioneer Brand Yellow Cornbread mix (not sweet, so I used the sugar),but if you use the Jiffey or a sweet one I'd leave out the sugar. I will make again but with more squash and I might add a little extra cheese inside the dish. Yummy on this cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I loved this! Even my non squash eating 14-year-old loved it! I followed the recipe pretty much. I only had a 10 3/4 oz can of cream of chicken and I ommitted the sage. Also, instead of boiling my squash I just microwaved it for about six minutes. Loved it and will be making it again. Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This is the best casserole I have ever had and you don't even have to like squash. Every time I make it people go crazy for it. Super good. You can substitute all he spices an bread crumbs for a box of stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zolin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Very yummy and uses up the abundance of yellow squash. I made cornbread using Better Homes New Cookbook recipe so I did not add sugar. I would cut the butter in half next time and add 3 cups squash instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I've made this a lot in the last few months with the following changes: - leave out the margarine, sage and salt - use Jiffy cornbread - add 1 large shredded carrot - add Tony's creole seasoning to give it a little more flavor. Everyone in the family eats it, including my 6 & 9 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I saute the veges in the butter then add them to the mix. After cooking this the first time I added some smoked chicken and it was a yummy main dish. This is now the dressing I make at Thanksgiving! Thanks Nana for the delicious casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamsy10
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Being from Texas, I knew I'd more than likely prefer a southern squash casserole recipe. BINGO! It's delicious. I followed Alyssa's comments and did add 3 cups squash and loads of sharp cheddar. The butter, cornbread, squash and onions come together perfectly. Kiss that Nana for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara p

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States