Nana's Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I don't know why I said chopped squash... I meant cooked. Anyhow, you can use 3 cups of squash if desired. I found it does help to use a little more than 2 cups. Also, yes, you can sustitute butter and margarine out, AND cut back slightly if you choose. I add more cheese than the recipe calls for as well. The only other thing I wanted to say.... someone said they cut out the sugar. It's only a SMALL amount, and the sugar helps the flavor come out in the dish. Anytime you add sugar to a salty dish, it helps accentuate the flavor of your meal. I learned this from my grandmother as well. :) I hope I helped fix my recipe... there's no edit button. haha. Thank you for the wonderful reviews! Alyssa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
We really enjoyed this. It did remind me of Thanksgiving. I didn't measure the squash, cornbread, onion or celery. I ended up using two small sized squash that I cubed and microwaved briefly in water to soften. I used a 10 oz can of cream of chicken soup and did not add the margarine. I made my own cornbread using Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread recipe here on AR and then used the same pan to bake this recipe. I think I would add more squash and less cornbread next time but I definitely will be making this again. I wish I had fresh yellow squash at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
MMMMMMMM so good. I subbed a box of the "store brand" cornbread stuffing for the cornbread, as that was all I had on hand, so I left out the salt. I also halfed the amount of butter, and added extra cheese. Very small adjustments that were made, and I must say this was so good. I served it with ham, and it went perfectly, but I liked the casserole better than my ham(LOL). Thanks so much for a great recipe! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This turned out perfectly! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee927

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottondale, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Tried it, everyone loved it. It's a keeper in the old recipe box. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
do u need to remove the seeds before boiling the squash??? ....ok, so i took the seeds out and cooked 3 squash (maybe 3 cups?) in the microwave then added to the ingredients and followed the rest....OMG!!!! this was soooooo good! i was surprised, squash not being my favorite. it will be even better next time when i add the cheese (hubby hates cheese, so i will have to do half and half). thanks alyssa!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorie S

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bertram, Texas, USA
Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Loved this! Loved this! I am swimming in yellow squash this summer and this used up a hunk. My husband rates this a 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This was really good!! I added extra cheese and used a bit more squash left out the sage and celery used half the sugar and it was awesome. Will be making this over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vina, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Excellent, not as sweet as the squash casserole which has the brown sugar topping. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I used leftover buttercup squash instead of yellow squash and bread cubes instead of cornbread. Very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States