Nana's Southern Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Really enjoyed this. Made it using bagged coleslaw mix, no additional chopping, and used stevia in place of the sugar. Turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Made my first coleslaw ever. It's pretty good. I don't like raw onions, so I switched in garlic, which I can't recommend. I won't make the same mistake next time. Also, I would add a little less liquid. I did follow the other suggestions to decrease the sugar a little and that was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I followed the recipe to the t. I love this recipe thanks for posting it. This recipe is yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this to take to a Thanksgiving potluck dinner. While it wasn't the most exciting dish on the buffet, a few people said they liked it. I brought some home. It really does taste a lot like KFC. It seemed "soupy" after 2 hours in the fridge, so I added about 1/2 bag more of the bagged cabbage mix. It had the right amount of crunch. My bags might have been smaller that other reviewers'. I didn't chop the cabbage mix; I used 1/4 c. of sugar; subbed 2 heaping Tbsp. of sour cream for the buttermilk; and used seasoned rice wine vinegar, thanks to other reviews. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Delicious! It really is close to the KFC version which is my favorite cole slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Family enjoyed - great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Great tasting coleslaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is my go to coleslaw recipe. Very good on pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Tastes exactly like KFC coleslaw!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JERRIYES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
GOOD, BUT NEEDED HELP. INSTEAD OF WHISKING, PUT ALL IN A SHAKER JAR. (WORKS FASTER AND BETTER.) TO MAKE THIS HEALTHIER AND SNAPPIER, USE RICE OR CIDER VINEGAR. (DISTILLED VINEGAR IS UNHEALTHY.....BUT GOOD FOR CLEANING!) BLACK PEPPER IS ALSO TOXIC TO THE BODY. (Reference material...'Back to Eden' by Jethro Kloss.) USE CAYENNE INSTEAD WHICH HAS NUMEROUS HEALTH BENEFITS. ADJUST THE HEAT TO TASTE. ALSO USED FRUCTOSE IN PLACE OF UNREFINED SUGAR. ALSO ADDED CELERY SEED AND CHOPPED ONION. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE./ arnetage68
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States