Nana's Southern Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This coleslaw was the bomb!! It really does taste like KFC's coleslaw. I changed the recipe because I didn't have buttermilk so I just added some vinegar to another 1/4 of milk. Perfect..... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christena Baillie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Excellent recipe. I halved it and followed the recipe exactly and it was great. Indeed very close to KFC, which I love. Not to mayonaisy, so it tasted nice and light. Will definitely be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is the EXACT same recipe from the cookbook: Top Secret Recipes - KFC coleslaw. I make it all the time and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juanea Rucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gram

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This was a great recipe, I loved the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
To make it really KFC,I used my chopper,and ground the cabbage,carrot & onion into (Rice Size Pieces).That makes the KFC differance right there.Mix the vegtables completely in your bowl,before adding the mayo/milk mixture.If you don't have Buttermilk,mix a little white vinegar & milk together in a separate bowl. Let it sit for 5 min or so,till the milk kurdels(gets thick).I also add Celery Seed to mine.A couple shakes.Refrigerate,& mix just before serving.I make it in the morning, so it's ready for Lunch or Dinner.Great served on Sandwiches,Hot Dogs or Burgers also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lockport's Hot Dog Cart King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made exactly as the recipe stated and this recipe was just a little too sweet for us. I also thought the dressing was a little too thin. I will try this again because I thought the flavor profile was good, just too sweet. Next time I will cut back on the sugar and omit the milk. I think it will be thin enough for my taste using just the buttermilk. If you like a sweet coleslaw though, this is the recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Definitely grate your carrots and onion. Also added some Louisiana hot sauce, ditched the milk. I like my dressing to stick to my cabbage. Very good recipe, something I'd been pretty much using all my life. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States