Nana's Southern Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Way to much sugar!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gram

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This was a great recipe, I loved the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
To make it really KFC,I used my chopper,and ground the cabbage,carrot & onion into (Rice Size Pieces).That makes the KFC differance right there.Mix the vegtables completely in your bowl,before adding the mayo/milk mixture.If you don't have Buttermilk,mix a little white vinegar & milk together in a separate bowl. Let it sit for 5 min or so,till the milk kurdels(gets thick).I also add Celery Seed to mine.A couple shakes.Refrigerate,& mix just before serving.I make it in the morning, so it's ready for Lunch or Dinner.Great served on Sandwiches,Hot Dogs or Burgers also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lockport's Hot Dog Cart King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made exactly as the recipe stated and this recipe was just a little too sweet for us. I also thought the dressing was a little too thin. I will try this again because I thought the flavor profile was good, just too sweet. Next time I will cut back on the sugar and omit the milk. I think it will be thin enough for my taste using just the buttermilk. If you like a sweet coleslaw though, this is the recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Definitely grate your carrots and onion. Also added some Louisiana hot sauce, ditched the milk. I like my dressing to stick to my cabbage. Very good recipe, something I'd been pretty much using all my life. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Colusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Did not care for this at all. There was nothing creamy about this. I followed the recipe (almost)to a T, with one omission and one minor sub, after mixing the mayo and buttermilk together, it looked very liquidy, so I left out the 1/4 cup regular milk and I subbed onion powder for the raw onion(personal preference). At this point I was hesitant, but I decided to go on. I should have listened to myself. When I added the dressing to the cabbage, it just dripped to the bottom of the bowl. Even after several mixings, over several hours, none of the dressing clung to the cabbage. But honestly, the dressing didn't taste that good anyways. I even added celery seed, hoping to salvage the taste...nope. The only reason I give this 2 stars instead of one, is because I was able to easily wash off this off putting dressing and add my own. I will use my tried and true recipe for slaw dressing(mayo, sugar, celery seed and vinegar...it's that easy)from now on, just wanted to try something new and wanted to use up a small amount of buttermilk left over from making Irish Soda Bread. Sorry, will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I'm not a big fan of this. Just ok. I really don't think it tastes anything like KFC coleslaw either. Note: I did use a bag of shredded cabbages and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dhegs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Asian Coleslaw

This coleslaw makes a delicious side dish. The secret? Peanut butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States