Nana's Southern Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I made it and absolutely loved it. I used all whole milk instead of the buttermilk, and used Sweet and low packets instead of the white sugar. I made a double batch. I used 1 green and 1 purple cabbage. It was soo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Made this over the weekend! It's awesome! I have been is search of a great coleslaw recipie and I have found it! Easy and tasty. Followed the recipie as is. Served it with Elaine's Sweet and Tangy Loose Beef BBQ (recipe on site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This was delicious! As close to KFC as we have ever had. My family all commented on how good it was. This is now my new coleslaw recipe!! I doubled the dressing recipe and used 2 bags of shredded cabbage mix. Made enough for family of 9 plus a little left over. I made this early in the morning and served it in the evening. Stirred a few times throughout the day to blend flavors. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Cure for watery coleslaw. I suggest combing cabbage and carrots that have been shredded with 1 tsp of salt. Mix then set over a strainer for 1 hour to get the water that's in carrots and cabbage out. Rinse to get the salt off then dry well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I misplaced my go to cole slaw recipe and saw this one which seemed close. I made this one and at dinner my wife said exactly what I was thinking: "This is the best cole slaw you have ever made!" It is indeed better than my previous recipe and is now my new go to cole slaw. My only change was using some red onion that I had use up. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
My family loves this recipe. I shred 1 small gala apple and add it. It adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I really liked this coleslaw, and I don't like coleslaw! I think it turned out wonderful, but the second time around I also reduced the sugar to 1/8 cup, and reduced the lemon juice to 1 TBSP. The next thing I might try to adjust would be the dressing. It seems to get too watery once the cabbage is added. I may try adding 1/4-1/2 tsp of xanthan gum to the dressing before mixing it in with the veggies. Also, I'm an onion lover, so I used twice to three times the onion on the second go-round, and it was STILL great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Awesome slaw!!! The first batch went according to the recipe and it was a bit lemony so I reduced the lemon by half in the second batch and it was great. The third batch I added a third tablespoon of vinegar and it reached the awesome level. I also used the pre-shredded cabbage/carrot mixture sold at the local store and just chopped it a bit finer. It went fast but if it lasts into the next day its even better after the flavors have mingled a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairmount, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This coleslaw was the bomb!! It really does taste like KFC's coleslaw. I changed the recipe because I didn't have buttermilk so I just added some vinegar to another 1/4 of milk. Perfect..... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christena Baillie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Excellent recipe. I halved it and followed the recipe exactly and it was great. Indeed very close to KFC, which I love. Not to mayonaisy, so it tasted nice and light. Will definitely be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Asian Coleslaw

This coleslaw makes a delicious side dish. The secret? Peanut butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States