Nana's Southern Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
I pretty much use recipes for core concepts, read all the comments, then alter it to my tastes and ingredients "at-hand". I like my modifications with this recipe and wanted to share. - Mixed liquid before adding the cabbage "coleslaw" mix - made 1/4c buttermilk from powder (Saco) - grated the onion into liquid - increased mayo to 1 cup, no milk at all - decreased lemon, just seasoned to taste, with salt/pepper - 1/2 packet of Stevia, + 2 Tbs vinegar. I like my coleslaw a bit wilted and dry, so I started in the morning, kept stirring and adding cabbage mix (2,16oz pkgs) thru the day, and served a tasty slaw for evening. Thanks all for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Didn't have buttermilk, so substituted plain, organic yogurt. We loved the subtle flavor difference and it was wonderful with BBQ. Great recipe to begin with, and thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina Ash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I like this a lot, forgot to buy lemon juice so I used a chardonnay instead and it was a fantastic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantel Sharar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
OMG! The best ever! Thank you for sharing! Made it exactly as directed! I made it for a party...I KNOW my sister is going to think I bought from KFC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Kay Greene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
This was delicious!! I did not realize until I got home that the recipe called for buttermilk so I substituted with milk and used less liquid. I LOVE lemon but felt like the lemon was a little too much, however without buttermilk, it's hard to say if it would have better presented with it in it. I do think it's a little too much sugar and I added more salt and pepper to my liking. Still a delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Battista

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This is the only Cole slaw that I ever make. Without a doubt the best I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Messer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
quick and dirty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
We loved this recipe! I did add the celery seed and a tablespoon of pickle relish(our preference) but next time I will omit the regular milk (we like ours a little creamier). But over all, great recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
GREAT ; Absolutely loved this one . Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Delhi, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Aw-Some Coleslaw

A quintessential, simple recipe for perfect coleslaw.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States