Nana's Slow Cooked Meaty Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I tweaked the recipe a little by adding one diced green pepper, two cloves of diced garlic, and using vegetable broth instead of chicken. I fry mushrooms in butter, place on the pasta and smother it in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
My husband usually dreads it when I make pasta because the sauce is always so lacking. THIS he absolutely loved. He said "You can make this almost every day of the week!" And I only used beef, no sausage - so next time I'll try using the sausage as well. Thanks, Lora, it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azgkrudi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Luck, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I followed this to a "T" and my husband says it is the best sauce he's ever had. Second time I made it I cut way back on the meat and just used Italian Sausage. It turned out just as good! This freezes great, and now we have it on hand all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This sauce was really delicious! My dad and my husband both said that it was the best sauce that they had ever had. I did make a few adjustments. I didn't use the ground beef (there was plenty of meat between the two types of sausage) I also only used 3 cans of diced tomatoes and I used tomato puree b/c I didn't have any tomato sauce. Oh and I also upped the wine to 1 full cup (it really boosted the flavor). Anyway its a great recipe and it makes a ton , so you're able to freeze it and use later for a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I have been looking for a good tomato sauce recipe and I found it. This is excellent exactly as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Wow! So delicious! I omitted the ground beef because I didn't need that much sauce. I also added a heaping 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper because my family loves spicy food. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Nickerson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I would make this again; it was easy and very tasty. I like all the tomato paste used--makes for a nice, thick sauce. The only note I have is to be aware that it feeds AN ARMY. I even cut out a pound of meat and used half of the diced tomatoes that the recipe called for! We will have leftovers AND enough to freeze for another meal. This was great for company and will feed a crowd, so thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
i have made this 4 times now.. it is fabulous!! i added a bit of sugar because i prefer some extra sweetness but this is by far the best sauce i have ever made! EVER!! we are having it for dinner tonight, and I love that it is slow cooker because there is no splatter mess all over the stove and it is cooked to perfection at the end of the day when I get home from work. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I've been making the sauce fairly regularly since I first tried it about 6 months ago. This is my ideal meat sauce. My 7 year old will ask for it and my somewhat picky 3 year old will eat it too. I will vary the ratio of sausage to beef, depending on what I have on hand. I don't use the spicey sausage (due to my kids) but will sometimes use mild. But its always good no matter what. Oh, and I do add a tablespoon or two of brown sugar because I can't help myself. (I like a sweet sauce!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Perfect sauce we loved it! It is super easy to prepare and makes a ton of sauce. I froze 4 bags of leftovers, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States