Nana's Slow Cooked Meaty Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I tweaked the recipe a little by adding one diced green pepper, two cloves of diced garlic, and using vegetable broth instead of chicken. I fry mushrooms in butter, place on the pasta and smother it in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
My husband usually dreads it when I make pasta because the sauce is always so lacking. THIS he absolutely loved. He said "You can make this almost every day of the week!" And I only used beef, no sausage - so next time I'll try using the sausage as well. Thanks, Lora, it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azgkrudi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Luck, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This sauce was really delicious! My dad and my husband both said that it was the best sauce that they had ever had. I did make a few adjustments. I didn't use the ground beef (there was plenty of meat between the two types of sausage) I also only used 3 cans of diced tomatoes and I used tomato puree b/c I didn't have any tomato sauce. Oh and I also upped the wine to 1 full cup (it really boosted the flavor). Anyway its a great recipe and it makes a ton , so you're able to freeze it and use later for a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Wow! So delicious! I omitted the ground beef because I didn't need that much sauce. I also added a heaping 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper because my family loves spicy food. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Nickerson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I followed this to a "T" and my husband says it is the best sauce he's ever had. Second time I made it I cut way back on the meat and just used Italian Sausage. It turned out just as good! This freezes great, and now we have it on hand all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Excellent taste! I would suggest using lean ground sirloin and be sure to drain the meat mixture extremely well, as I found that as the sauce cooked, the oils from the meat came out and I ended up skimming fat from the top before serving. The flavor was delicious. I served it over rotini pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
OMG!!! This is the easiest and most delicous sauce!! yum yum I added lots of cheese to it as well... it turned out perfectly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by p_ramirez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Yum - also used it to make lasagne and it got raves from every kid in my neighborhood. Unlike a lot of other reviewers I added more ground beef as my kids like their sauce meaty, as well as sweet and spicy Italian sausages. Couldn't find fresh basil but dried was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Wow! This is an excellent recipe. My instinct told me to take off the lid of my cooker during the last 1.5 hr to thicken the sauce and that worked out well. Suggest adding fresh basil after cooking has shut off.I love this red sauce w/meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
very easy to prepare. I added more spices than the recipe called for as I like a deep flavor. The sauce was thick and very tasty. If you like sweeter sauce, add a half grated carrot when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States