Nana's Slow Cooked Meaty Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Awesome, perfect. I did 8 hours, totally addicted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This recipe was definitely 5 star! It is also a very flexible recipe - I used ground turkey and ground pork, although I did put in the hot Italian sausage. Also, the tomato products are pretty flexible, too (crushed tomatoes were in my cupboard so used those rather than diced and used Primo Thick and Zesty pasta sauce with onion and herb - also in my cupboard). I found it needed a wee bit more punch so added 3/4 tsp. chili flakes and a tablespoon of sugar. I made a half recipe and have enough left over for another 4 or 5 servings. All the women in the group asked for the recipe so you can bet it was better than our "run of the mill" old hat spaghetti sauce recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Very Good. I think I will use this the next time I'm going to make lasagna. With all the meat in it I will be able to skip a step in the lasagna building process!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian M Boccuzzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
this sauce is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
very easy to prepare. I added more spices than the recipe called for as I like a deep flavor. The sauce was thick and very tasty. If you like sweeter sauce, add a half grated carrot when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Wow! This is an excellent recipe. My instinct told me to take off the lid of my cooker during the last 1.5 hr to thicken the sauce and that worked out well. Suggest adding fresh basil after cooking has shut off.I love this red sauce w/meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Yum - also used it to make lasagne and it got raves from every kid in my neighborhood. Unlike a lot of other reviewers I added more ground beef as my kids like their sauce meaty, as well as sweet and spicy Italian sausages. Couldn't find fresh basil but dried was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
OMG!!! This is the easiest and most delicous sauce!! yum yum I added lots of cheese to it as well... it turned out perfectly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by p_ramirez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Excellent taste! I would suggest using lean ground sirloin and be sure to drain the meat mixture extremely well, as I found that as the sauce cooked, the oils from the meat came out and I ended up skimming fat from the top before serving. The flavor was delicious. I served it over rotini pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States