Nana's Slow Cooked Meaty Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
The first time I made this I left out the wine (I didn't have any) and didn't use the hot sausage (we don't like spicy food)...well the sauce was really bland and I ended up having to doctor the sauce each time I used what was left over. The second time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly and it was awesome! The wine and hot sausage gave the sauce a ton of flavor without making it spicy. I can't wait to make this using my own tomatoes from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queenie605

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I would make this again; it was easy and very tasty. I like all the tomato paste used--makes for a nice, thick sauce. The only note I have is to be aware that it feeds AN ARMY. I even cut out a pound of meat and used half of the diced tomatoes that the recipe called for! We will have leftovers AND enough to freeze for another meal. This was great for company and will feed a crowd, so thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
i have made this 4 times now.. it is fabulous!! i added a bit of sugar because i prefer some extra sweetness but this is by far the best sauce i have ever made! EVER!! we are having it for dinner tonight, and I love that it is slow cooker because there is no splatter mess all over the stove and it is cooked to perfection at the end of the day when I get home from work. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Absolutely delishious!! The only thing I changed was I substituted the Hot sausages for Garlic Cheese. This is by far the easiest / tastiest sauce I've had! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I've been making the sauce fairly regularly since I first tried it about 6 months ago. This is my ideal meat sauce. My 7 year old will ask for it and my somewhat picky 3 year old will eat it too. I will vary the ratio of sausage to beef, depending on what I have on hand. I don't use the spicey sausage (due to my kids) but will sometimes use mild. But its always good no matter what. Oh, and I do add a tablespoon or two of brown sugar because I can't help myself. (I like a sweet sauce!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
OMG, this recipe was wonderful, everybody loved the sauce. Thank you very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buzz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I've never made a truly Italian sauce, usually put my Jewish tilt to a sauce. But I followed this recipe as written and it was Great. My son raved and I enjoyed the entire process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Perfect sauce we loved it! It is super easy to prepare and makes a ton of sauce. I froze 4 bags of leftovers, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I have been looking for a good tomato sauce recipe and I found it. This is excellent exactly as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States