Nana's Mashed Turnip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was my first time using turnips and it was a pleasant experience. This was a great recipe and I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tInA*671*

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yona, Yona, Guam
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was a great way to use up bitter turnips from my garden! My husband couldn't guess what was in them, and we both thought they were delicious. Thanks, Nana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was really good and really easy. An exciting variation on mashed potatoes. Great for a big feast but not a small 2-3 dish meal. Because it is so simple you need the variety of the other dishes to complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Fantastic, especially with fresly grated parmesan cheese & chopped parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenw

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
So we never had turnips before and I saw them cooking mashed turnips on that Famous Food Channel/Network and decided I would look for an easy recipe to try this. When I brought home the ingredients to cook, my fiance immediately started complaining about not wanting to eat turnips..but I proceeded none the less. I'm glad I did, these were awesome!! I make mashed potatoes a lot and adding the mashed turnips add a wonderful zest and flavor. I absolutely loved this recipe and will be making it many many more times. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Delicious...this is the way we always make it...cept...I omit the sugar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I don't eat turnips, but those who do say it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn in CT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
When my husband described what he was making for dinner (this dish) I said oooh that doesn't sound very good. Well I ate my words and gobbled up 2 servings as this was incredibly good! I didn't see the point of cooking it lid on/lid off though. Thanks Nanna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSNOEL
Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
My husband loved this! My kids gobbled it down, too. I'm giving it a four-star for now, only because I used rutabaga instead of turnip - and the smell brought back icky rutabaga childhood memories. Will definitely make again - next time using turnip instead. Might earn a five-star from me then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Fry up some bacon to a crisp and sprinkle on top as garnish. Great recipe--my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States