Nana's Mashed Turnip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was really good, the only thing that I didn't make sure of was the fact of checking to make sure that all the water had drained out of the pot when I drained the potatoes/turnips. They wound up a tad moist but were still good. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Borman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Heights, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I love this recipe. The turnips added sweetness to the mashed potatoes, and it make it less dense. I used equal parts turnip to potatoes (a little more potatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy L
Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Not too different from mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Out of necessity I used a pinch of cayenne pepper in this as I was out of black pepper. It turned out very moist and so flavor full that no one at my dinner bothered to put butter or gravy on my mashed turnip and enjoyed it as served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Lorek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Tasty! I diced & then roasted the taters & turnips, also used Yukons and about 5 medium. Didn't realize I was pretty much out of butter, so I only added 1 tbsp. The sugar gave the turnips a little extra kick. Neat change for mashed taters. Adding some cheese & garlic might be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Even my youngest who says he is allergic to mashed potatoes ate all of his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
My Mom used to make this recipe every Thanksgiving, we all loved it. I don't wait for the holidays to make it, it's a year round favorite, and yes the reviewers are rght, it has te a rutabaga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I have awarded fewer stars only because a novice cook needs "cup" measurements for the potatoes and turnip. Also after reading the recipe and several of the reviews I have also concluded that the turnip is correctly "rutabaga". Using the wrong vegetable in the recipe would make a tremendous difference in texture and taste! Rutabaga would be the correct one to use. I find turnips are rather tasteless and 'watery'. I have made something very similar in the past using rutabaga...thanks for the reminder...it is very tasty alternative way to serve potatoes and I will be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Great base recipe. Gave 4 stars instead of 5 because I do feel it needed the brown sugar, not white, and also needed more salt. I also added parsnips to the mix. I ended up with 1 parsnip and 1 turnip to every 2 potatoes. This made a delightful mashed blend. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States