Nana's Mashed Turnip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I would recommend this recipe for turnip haters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I doubled the recipe b/c I had so many potatoes--and it was devoured by the kiddos in no time. Calling it "Mashed Turnips" is a misnomer, though. This is mashed potatoes with added turnip. The turnip adds a nice unexpected sweetness every once-in-a-bite. You will really need to add salt to taste, and we added Herbomare and kelp to pop up the flavor, using a nice medley of multi-colored fingerlings for hte potatoes. Looked gorgeous with the purple skins ON and tasted really good. Saving this to the recipe box. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
So wanted to like this recipe. Followed it exactly and it was blah. Will try again after I look thru my spices and experiment with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving for my sister who adores turnip. It was a hit with many folks, some of who are not familiar with turnip. I would definitely make it again - it's an interesting, but not overbearing taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was really good, the only thing that I didn't make sure of was the fact of checking to make sure that all the water had drained out of the pot when I drained the potatoes/turnips. They wound up a tad moist but were still good. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asphaltcowboy762

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Heights, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I love this recipe. The turnips added sweetness to the mashed potatoes, and it make it less dense. I used equal parts turnip to potatoes (a little more potatoes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy L
Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Not too different from mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Out of necessity I used a pinch of cayenne pepper in this as I was out of black pepper. It turned out very moist and so flavor full that no one at my dinner bothered to put butter or gravy on my mashed turnip and enjoyed it as served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Tasty! I diced & then roasted the taters & turnips, also used Yukons and about 5 medium. Didn't realize I was pretty much out of butter, so I only added 1 tbsp. The sugar gave the turnips a little extra kick. Neat change for mashed taters. Adding some cheese & garlic might be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States