Nana's Mashed Turnip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
Awesome recipe. I'd had mashed turnip and carrots, and plain old mashed turnips, but with the potatoes they were so creamy...the flavor was wonderful. I used light cream instead of milk, and didn't measure it- I poured until I got the right consistency for the way we like mashed potatoes. Got rave reviews from hubby and parents- a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONESOUP

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This dish was delicious. I added one more tsp of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I'm not a big turnip fan, but mashed turnips are a part of the holiday meal whenever my family serves turkey. This year it was my turn to prepare the feast, so I tried this recipe. Only change was I used brown sugar instead of white, and added a bit more butter (can't remember if it calls for it in the recipe or not!). It turned out wonderful! Even my father, who hates turnips but dutifully takes a spoonful each year, got up for a second helping. Thank you for a nice change to the traditional mashed turnip!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
wonderful. Made it for dinner one night and the kids requested it for thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Linn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
At first this recipe sounded kind of bland and I was very leary of trying it. But I had two turnips and had no idea how to prepare them. I found it to be a bit too sweet for my liking, but that could be my fault. I had two turnips to use, so I increased the potatoes to 4 large potatoes and increased the sugar to 2 tsp. I used Yukon Gold potatoes which have their own richness. I think I used too much sugar, 1 tsp would have been good. All in all a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Yum! Great recipe! Thanks =o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAINE-MOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This turned out really scrumptious, especially alongside the "Modenese Pork Chops" also on allrecipes.com. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
awesome. what a wonderful way to use turnips, thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I wasn't sure if I could get the kids to eat the turnips we picked at the farm, but this was a winner. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States