Nana's Mashed Turnip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
Awesome recipe. I'd had mashed turnip and carrots, and plain old mashed turnips, but with the potatoes they were so creamy...the flavor was wonderful. I used light cream instead of milk, and didn't measure it- I poured until I got the right consistency for the way we like mashed potatoes. Got rave reviews from hubby and parents- a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONESOUP

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I wasn't sure if I could get the kids to eat the turnips we picked at the farm, but this was a winner. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
At first this recipe sounded kind of bland and I was very leary of trying it. But I had two turnips and had no idea how to prepare them. I found it to be a bit too sweet for my liking, but that could be my fault. I had two turnips to use, so I increased the potatoes to 4 large potatoes and increased the sugar to 2 tsp. I used Yukon Gold potatoes which have their own richness. I think I used too much sugar, 1 tsp would have been good. All in all a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Yum! Great recipe! Thanks =o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAINE-MOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
awesome. what a wonderful way to use turnips, thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This turned out really scrumptious, especially alongside the "Modenese Pork Chops" also on allrecipes.com. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I'm not a big turnip fan, but mashed turnips are a part of the holiday meal whenever my family serves turkey. This year it was my turn to prepare the feast, so I tried this recipe. Only change was I used brown sugar instead of white, and added a bit more butter (can't remember if it calls for it in the recipe or not!). It turned out wonderful! Even my father, who hates turnips but dutifully takes a spoonful each year, got up for a second helping. Thank you for a nice change to the traditional mashed turnip!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
wonderful. Made it for dinner one night and the kids requested it for thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Linn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This dish was delicious. I added one more tsp of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States