Nana's Mashed Turnip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
Awesome recipe. I'd had mashed turnip and carrots, and plain old mashed turnips, but with the potatoes they were so creamy...the flavor was wonderful. I used light cream instead of milk, and didn't measure it- I poured until I got the right consistency for the way we like mashed potatoes. Got rave reviews from hubby and parents- a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I like this recipe, but "one turnip" just isn't enough information, since turnips come in such a wide range of sizes. (Note how several reviews said it tastes just like mashed potatoes.) Better to specify approximate weight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I'm not a big turnip fan, but mashed turnips are a part of the holiday meal whenever my family serves turkey. This year it was my turn to prepare the feast, so I tried this recipe. Only change was I used brown sugar instead of white, and added a bit more butter (can't remember if it calls for it in the recipe or not!). It turned out wonderful! Even my father, who hates turnips but dutifully takes a spoonful each year, got up for a second helping. Thank you for a nice change to the traditional mashed turnip!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I've never had Turnips at all. I love mashed potatoes, so, seeing as my produce box had a Turnip, thought I would try it. We were not disappointed. Will definitely make again. I used red potatoes and I also used brown sugar instead of white, it added some extra flavor to it. Add the salt and pepper as you are serving. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
A very good recipe for (as others have stated) Holiday dinner gatherings. I usually "drape" my turkey with bacon slices so once the turkey's cooked, I simply crumble up the bacon slices and add them (with 1 T. of the turkey drippings) to the root mixture. Turnips are bland, so for simpler occasions (such as a normal family meal), I slice up a yellow onion and cook it along with a couple of bacon slices. I've also been known to toss in some chopped scallion greens OR parsley OR chives OR cilantro just before serving to give it both some added flavor and some color (garlic lover that I am, I do NOT recommend adding garlic to this; too overpowering even for my tastes). This dish goes very well with a beef roast, pork chops and roasted chicken, too. Also, carrots can be substituted for the turnips and you wouldn't necessarily need to add any sugar. All in all, a good, hearty side addition to any cold day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
At first this recipe sounded kind of bland and I was very leary of trying it. But I had two turnips and had no idea how to prepare them. I found it to be a bit too sweet for my liking, but that could be my fault. I had two turnips to use, so I increased the potatoes to 4 large potatoes and increased the sugar to 2 tsp. I used Yukon Gold potatoes which have their own richness. I think I used too much sugar, 1 tsp would have been good. All in all a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This was very easy to make, and I nice change from having plain mashed potatoes as a side. My girlfriend and I really enjoyed it. We also made it adding some shredded old-nippy cheddar cheese on top for the last step, which gave it a nice touch as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Delicious...this is the way we always make it...cept...I omit the sugar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
When my husband described what he was making for dinner (this dish) I said oooh that doesn't sound very good. Well I ate my words and gobbled up 2 servings as this was incredibly good! I didn't see the point of cooking it lid on/lid off though. Thanks Nanna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSNOEL
Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
wonderful. Made it for dinner one night and the kids requested it for thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Linn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States