Nana's Mashed Turnip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I don't eat turnips, but those who do say it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn in CT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
When my husband described what he was making for dinner (this dish) I said oooh that doesn't sound very good. Well I ate my words and gobbled up 2 servings as this was incredibly good! I didn't see the point of cooking it lid on/lid off though. Thanks Nanna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSNOEL
Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
My husband loved this! My kids gobbled it down, too. I'm giving it a four-star for now, only because I used rutabaga instead of turnip - and the smell brought back icky rutabaga childhood memories. Will definitely make again - next time using turnip instead. Might earn a five-star from me then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Fry up some bacon to a crisp and sprinkle on top as garnish. Great recipe--my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Very good! I bought some turnips at my farmers' market and didn't feel like putting it in chicken veggie soup this time, so I tried this recipe. I sprinkled a little parmesan cheese on top before allowing it to brown. We enjoyed it greatly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Tatees and Meeps as us Scots would call it! As a matter of fact, this will become a more regular side dish in the winter instead of plain mashed potatoes. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jancanuck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
YUM! We loved these! I did not know what to do with my turnip and am thankful I tried this out - it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I've never had Turnips at all. I love mashed potatoes, so, seeing as my produce box had a Turnip, thought I would try it. We were not disappointed. Will definitely make again. I used red potatoes and I also used brown sugar instead of white, it added some extra flavor to it. Add the salt and pepper as you are serving. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
After reading the reviews about "watery" problems, I added just enough milk to make it "mashed potato" consistency. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States