Nana's Mashed Turnip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Very good, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I love this recipe. The turnip and bit of sugar really gives a smooth extra flavor to regular mashed potatoes. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
11-19-11: I thought this was good, but Ann doesn't like turnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
These were so light and fluffy - absolutely delicious! A step up from plain mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Yummmmm!!! We substituted stevia in for the sugar and cut back a little on the butter and hubs and I loved 'em. Kids like these okay, though they usually prefer standard mashed potatoes of one sort or another more (but with time, I think they'll learn to love these too! - learning to like grits was that way for them too....). NOW, THE EXTRA BEAUTY OF THIS DISH IS....that, for those watching their weight, the addition of turnips cuts back on the amount of calories eaten via mashed potatoes, making it possible to eat more, and these are quite tasty to my way of thinking. Not quite as versatile as whipped or country style mashed potatoes, but a lovely change of pace. A very useful, tasty recipe! Thanks for posting! (BTW, we are not quite so likely to heat the oven if it's not already on, so sometimes we enjoy these straight from the pot instead of from a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This recipe turned out great on the first try. I didn't make any modifications. My family loved it and it was a great way to use some of the fresh potatoes and turnips we got from our CSA. No more boring ole mash potatoes. These potatoes had a nice kick to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
My first attempt at turnips. I received some from a friend's CSA box. and did not know what to do with them. I made this recipe and it turned out well. I added only a little bit of sugar. I wonder if it is necessary at all. Thank you, Nana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CA cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Tasted mostly like mashed potatoes with a funny after-taste. They weren't very creamy either (I think because of the consistency of the turnips).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I've never tried turnips, and our family liked this. It wasn't amazing, but I give it 4 stars because it got us to try a new food. We probably won't grow turnips again, but we will definitely use this recipe if they are given to us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
better than regular mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States