Nana's Fastnachts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This is a good recipe and good technique, but I rolled less than 1/2 inch thick and that was, I think, too thick. The slits completely closed up during the final rise. I'll bring it down to 1/4 inch next time, and probably add vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
May 24,2011 > Oh happy day!!! My husband had begged me to make his favorite donuts for a long time. With the help of CindyLepp (recipe buzz), she was able to find the common name for german donuts, so this was the recipe I ended up using. This was a long process but it was worth it. I made this two ways: the first half was done as written and the second half, I had rolled out the dough a little thinner, cut it about 5-6 inches square/rectangle and rested it for a bit (not to double it's size) before frying. We actually liked the thinner bigger squares/rectangles better because that's how my husbands granny made it; it had that puffed up blistered appearance. We topped it with powdered sugar and a runny glaze. The first half (as written) tasted like beignets which is not a bad thing. August 26, 2011 > very versatile; also used this sweet dough for pull-apart rolls and cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Not bad, but soooo long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolate_frenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Excellent recipe! My kids loved them and begged for me to make them again as soon as they ran out. I didn't have the patience to let them rise 3 times. I mixed everything up, let them rise in a warm oven for 45 minutes, and rolled them out. They puffed up really well when cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
First time making any donut type food. These were a hit. Takes some time, as they have to rise three times. I think a smaller size than a regular biscuit might fry better. I also tried a donut shape, it worked the best for frying. However, I like the look of them with the two slits though too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
so yummy, next time I will cut the batch in half, it makes a big number of dougnuts. and I would increase the amount of sugar in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
A LOT of work for a donut... they're good... nothing amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
VERY good! Just plan for a little bit of time -- with 3 risings you have to be patient. Also, the size biscut cutter you should use to get the suggested servings (5 dozen) is a 1-1/2".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
These were EXCELLENT!!! My family loved them. I do have to say they taste just like moms. She is from Germany, and makes them by memory from how her mother used to make them. Now I have an official recipe!! The hardest part is waiting for each of the risings. One additional note......Instead of using a biscut cutter, I just rolled the dough out and cut it up in rectangles, put the 2 slits in, and before I was ready to fry it, I streched them a little. These are also great the next day warmed in the toaster oven!!!!!! Sue from Buffalo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
This is a wonderful recipe! Made this today with a wet glaze (confectioner's sugar, vanilla, milk, pinch of salt, add liquid slowly while beating to avoid lumps, not enough liquid to be too thin.) Crispy outside, tender and sweet inside, an ideal treat for those who crave doughnuts. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States