Nana's Christmas Stollen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I made this for my sunday school Christmas dinner and it was a big hit just one thing... Pay attention to the size of your food processor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I made this recipe as gifts at Christmas. The dough was beautiful but I would probably add more fruit next time I make it. I will definitely make it again. By the way, I used 2 packets of yeast and that worked fine (there seemed to be some confusion about the amount of yeast to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made this for the first time for Christmas - and was very pleased with the result. I even did the first mix in my bread oven, and did the second round of fruit and flour by hand on the bench - with fruit popping everywhere! Next go will add more cardamon,the extra fruit (already did that)and half the mix to see how it goes all mixed in my bread machine. The original recipe is way too big to fit! The recipe was very easy to follow - although I got my yeast measurement muddled (we don't use ounces any more). It was plenty active enough with one sachet of dry yeast for the full mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Not like the stollen I remember as a child.But everyone seemed to like it.I probably will keep searching. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This recipe was good. I do think that the amount of dry active yeast listed is incorrect. I thought it sounded like alot. I found another recipe with similiar ingredients. It calls for .25oz of yeast. The yeast comes in .25oz packages. Is that what the recipe should have 1 (.25oz) package? Not 1 oz of yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda McCaffrey Rudio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Perfect! I doubled the fruit but no other changes. (I used cranberries, apricots, cherries, plums and also sliced almonds). The dough turned out wonderfully. Mixed it in my Kitchenaid mixer. Absolutely no flour adjustments needed. I dusted the baked loaves (4) generously with powdered sugar. Easy recipe and like ones I made years ago but less work! I'll be making it more often now. Thank you for bringing back a tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This stollen is delicious. Not too difficult to make, and disappears quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reda B
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Very delicious! My husband likes to bake breads and he made this and it was better than his grandfather's German recipe that had been used for years and years! He added dried cranberries, raisins, red and green candied cherries and slivered almonds. Drizzled the top with a sugar glaze(powdered sugar, milk and almond extract)and decorated top with red and green candied cherry halves on icing. He/I will always use this recipe every Christmas from now on! Everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Fantastic...i made this for Christmas and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I just made this and it was awesome! I only made two per batch and braided the dough. After it cooled I made the Butter Cream Frosting II from Allrecipes and frosted them, added some red and green colored sugar and a few more candied cherries. Very nice. I'm going to make some for Christmas gifts, but I will divide the dough into thirds. This was an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States