Nana's Christmas Stollen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
My mom died before she could write down her stollen recipe. It has been over five years since we had it. After making this recipe, it was everything that I remembered hers to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This is pretty close to the recipe I have used for years from my great grandfather, a German baker. However, I must comment on one review so others do not try this. If you want stollen, you need to use cardamom. Nutmeg belongs in eggnog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
If you are using quick yeast in the jar the measurement is 2 1/2 tablespoons. Very nice dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Perfect! I doubled the fruit but no other changes. (I used cranberries, apricots, cherries, plums and also sliced almonds). The dough turned out wonderfully. Mixed it in my Kitchenaid mixer. Absolutely no flour adjustments needed. I dusted the baked loaves (4) generously with powdered sugar. Easy recipe and like ones I made years ago but less work! I'll be making it more often now. Thank you for bringing back a tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I made this recipe as gifts at Christmas. The dough was beautiful but I would probably add more fruit next time I make it. I will definitely make it again. By the way, I used 2 packets of yeast and that worked fine (there seemed to be some confusion about the amount of yeast to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reda B
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Very delicious! My husband likes to bake breads and he made this and it was better than his grandfather's German recipe that had been used for years and years! He added dried cranberries, raisins, red and green candied cherries and slivered almonds. Drizzled the top with a sugar glaze(powdered sugar, milk and almond extract)and decorated top with red and green candied cherry halves on icing. He/I will always use this recipe every Christmas from now on! Everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I used 3 whole eggs instead of the eggs and yolks. This is a wonderful recipe but next time I make it I will add twice as much fruit. I put a glaze on it and decorated with green and red sprinkles. I used nutmeg instead of cardomon. This is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This recipe was good. I do think that the amount of dry active yeast listed is incorrect. I thought it sounded like alot. I found another recipe with similiar ingredients. It calls for .25oz of yeast. The yeast comes in .25oz packages. Is that what the recipe should have 1 (.25oz) package? Not 1 oz of yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda McCaffrey Rudio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I just made this and it was awesome! I only made two per batch and braided the dough. After it cooled I made the Butter Cream Frosting II from Allrecipes and frosted them, added some red and green colored sugar and a few more candied cherries. Very nice. I'm going to make some for Christmas gifts, but I will divide the dough into thirds. This was an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I couldn't even get it in the oven. Is it 5&2/3 cup of flour or 5, 2/3c of flour? If it's 5, 2/3 why not just say 3 cups? The dough was like soup and I was not able to knead it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States