Nana's Christmas Stollen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Magnificent. I used 4 x 8g sachets of dry yeast, 3 whole eggs, and somewhat more fruit in mine. My cardamon was giving me the willies trying to crush it so i put in what I had and added some allspice. YUM YUM YUM I'm the greatest hero in the family (my mum totally flopped at her stollen attempt).Merry Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I made this for my sunday school Christmas dinner and it was a big hit just one thing... Pay attention to the size of your food processor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I made this recipe as gifts at Christmas. The dough was beautiful but I would probably add more fruit next time I make it. I will definitely make it again. By the way, I used 2 packets of yeast and that worked fine (there seemed to be some confusion about the amount of yeast to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made this for the first time for Christmas - and was very pleased with the result. I even did the first mix in my bread oven, and did the second round of fruit and flour by hand on the bench - with fruit popping everywhere! Next go will add more cardamon,the extra fruit (already did that)and half the mix to see how it goes all mixed in my bread machine. The original recipe is way too big to fit! The recipe was very easy to follow - although I got my yeast measurement muddled (we don't use ounces any more). It was plenty active enough with one sachet of dry yeast for the full mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Not like the stollen I remember as a child.But everyone seemed to like it.I probably will keep searching. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This recipe was good. I do think that the amount of dry active yeast listed is incorrect. I thought it sounded like alot. I found another recipe with similiar ingredients. It calls for .25oz of yeast. The yeast comes in .25oz packages. Is that what the recipe should have 1 (.25oz) package? Not 1 oz of yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda McCaffrey Rudio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Perfect! I doubled the fruit but no other changes. (I used cranberries, apricots, cherries, plums and also sliced almonds). The dough turned out wonderfully. Mixed it in my Kitchenaid mixer. Absolutely no flour adjustments needed. I dusted the baked loaves (4) generously with powdered sugar. Easy recipe and like ones I made years ago but less work! I'll be making it more often now. Thank you for bringing back a tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This stollen is delicious. Not too difficult to make, and disappears quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reda B
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Very delicious! My husband likes to bake breads and he made this and it was better than his grandfather's German recipe that had been used for years and years! He added dried cranberries, raisins, red and green candied cherries and slivered almonds. Drizzled the top with a sugar glaze(powdered sugar, milk and almond extract)and decorated top with red and green candied cherry halves on icing. He/I will always use this recipe every Christmas from now on! Everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Fantastic...i made this for Christmas and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States