Nana's Christmas Stollen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Wonderfull. I made for my husband and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Been making this for a few years now and I have always added about 1Tbsp of real lemon peel. Last year I forgot to do that and I realized I do like it better with the added fresh lemon peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
i used this recipe for the first time last week. Heeding the suggestions to increase the amount of fruit, I did that, and I too used three whole eggs instead of two eggs and two yolks. I made sure not to work in too much flour, keeping it soft but not sticky. The bread rose wonderfully, and yielded a wonderful fragrance in baking. I'd made three loaves, so put two into plastic bags as soon as they were cool enough, and we ate one within a day of baking. The extra loaves were kept just above freezing in our garage. I frosted the Stollen with a creamy frosting like "Jeannie's," made popular by Jeannie's Bakery in Winnipeg. The bread was moist and flavourful. I was surprised then, to find the bread dry when I sliced the just-frosted loaves to serve to guests yesterday. A retired professional baker was among the guests, so I asked his advice. He was puzzled. Please advise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I heeded the advice in the reviews and doubled the fruit. I also added a 1/2 tsp of lemon peel and orange peel. Use XL eggs. The yolks are bigger and will lend for a richer batter. Used the Kitchenaid mixer for kneading--will never knead by hand again. Before baking I flattened each loaf, spread it with almond paste, then folded it back to its original shape. This adds a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Family raved about it! Wonderful recipe. And easy...I knew it was too much yeast so only used 1/2 oz (two packets, worked fine; also used currants (soak and drain)not raisins; dried cranberries rather than candied cherries, finely chopped candied ginger, and slivered almonds, doubling the total amount of fruit. Added ground lemon peel. Used the food processor to blend second step, but let it rise in big bowl, covered. Mixed in rest of flour, etc, by hand, then kneaded. Worked fine. I baked at 350 convection for 20 mins. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vieg100
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I liked it. I halved the recipe (everything except for the fruit) and got two good size loafs. I agree with others, the fruit needs to be doubled. Since the bread itself is not very sweet, the fruit adds additional sweetness and makes it better. The dough was a pleasure to work with. My loafs were a little dry for my taste. I also think that 375 F is a little high, next time i will bake them at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This bread turned out really well. Mine was kind of like stollen on steroids. I never had yeast rise as well as it did with this recipe! Something to consider: The recipe says to combine the 3 cups of flour with the dry yeast, add the liquids and process and let rise. Then you add the remaining 2 2/3 cups of flour. But a problem I had was that after the first processing in a food processor, it bubbled up everywhere. The yeast exploded and volcanoed out of the processor! So really, all that needs to be done after mixing in the liquids with the yeast/flour is to pour it into a bowl and then hand-mix the rest of the flour and pre-chopped candies/nuts/whatever. And then let it rise in the bowl. I was scraping gooey yeast drippings off the food processor and counter. But the bread still turned out really great, moist, and not over-sweet. Mine were huge and I got 3 good loaves out of it. The family says this recipe tops Betty Crocker's (what I used last Christmas). Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
YUM!! Best recipe I've tried! But I cut the yeast to one Tablespoon of dry active yeast. Lovely texture & moist, but not too moist. I also used my KitchenAide mixer instead of the food processor, I'm sure the FP would have been fine, I just knew mine wouldn't hold 5 2/3 cups of flour. Spouse did miss the almond paste for the center, so I'll be using this recipe again next year with that addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very yummy. I only gave it 4 stars because the time and temp was off, and I added Almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Even without much experience in yeast breads I found this recipe easy (time consuming, but easy) and it turned out perfectly. I used one packet of yeast and doubled the fruit. It made beautiful stollen I was proud to share with our friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States