Nana's Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I love this recipe! I changed only a few things that made it a bit more personalized for my family's taste, but this recipe is a great starting point or solid as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I tripled the flour and salt in the first step to properly coat the meat and that left the drippings quite thick so I doubled the butter for both steps and also doubled the mushrooms. I ran out of wine so I used more beef stock instead. Also only let it cook for a little over an hour. It needed quite a bit of pepper at the end but the result was fantastic. I have a simpler, less traditional recipe that I usually use for beef stroganoff but my exceptionally picky husband actually moaned several times while eating this so I guess this is my new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBirman
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This is my husband's favorite meal so I tried this recipe. He said it was good but was more tangy than he is used to and likes. (He likes it more "mushroomy".) I THINK it was the wine but not certain. Will look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBirman

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This was really good. I added the wine early on like many of the other reviewers and also added a touch of Penzey's Bavarian Seasoning to give it just a little richer flavor. This spice blend includes crushed brown mustard, rosemary, garlic, thyme, bay leaf and sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This was wonderful. Fairly easy with a nice full flavor. I love stroganoff but hate canned ingredients so this was a great recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This was very tomato-ey to me. I would increase the beef broth and decrease the tomato paste or leave it out all together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aimee Elliott
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Lovely recipe! The tomato paste browns the sauce, nicely. Don't be afraid of the sauce browning/sticking to the bottom of the pan. It de-glazes perfectly when you add the sour cream and white wine. Suggestion: use two large portabella mushroom caps chopped into 1 in pieces. They will hold up better for extended cooking. I only cooked this for 45-1 hour before adding the sour cream/wine and serving. It was perfect! Thank you, Nana...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Elliott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Good, but something was missing. It needed more of a beef flavor in my opinion and less of the tomato. I added a little bit of paprika to the sauce and extra sour cream. 3 stars for me and 5 stars from the rest of my family. Serve with coleslaw and mashed potatoes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I couldn't find my mom's recipe, so I was looking for one that was similar. Found it! This is exactly how I grew up eating stroganoff. Creamy and rich. The white wine really brings out the flavors in the sirloin and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I cheated and used ground beef because I was hungry and didn't want to wait 3 hours. It still turned out well. My entire family cleaned their plates, and that includes my extra special picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States