Nana's Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
this was my most adventurous attempt at a 'gourmet' meal. followed the directions exactly (with the exception of more garlic, as is our preference).....was fantabulous! could not be happier with the result - it will assuredly become a regular in this home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chronicbon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This was easy and delicious. I used white balsamic vinegar in place of the wine, which added a nice flavor, and is of course made with wine, but I only used a good couple of splashes, and did this before the simmer, not after. I added water every now and then as needed. I only simmered for an hour, but it was sirloin, and very tender. I only had canned mushrooms so that's what I used, but fresh would have been better. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I picked up a small sirloin steak but it wasn't enough for the two of us. I let it tenderize a couple of days before making this and used all of the ingredients. I even used my own homemade beef stock. Becaue the meat was tender to begin with, this only took about 2 hours on a very low flame. My husband and I inhaled it and there was only a small portion left. Only two things I changed were 1 tblsp of tubed tomato paste and 1 tblsp of ketchup and about 2 tsps of dijon mustard before simmering it. Didn't need the wine, because the stock had wine in it. This was fab and we'll keep this recipe to make it again. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Hubby loves Beef Stroganoff so I've been making it for him for many years always trying a different recipe. Finally, this is the keeper for beef stroganoff!! Yeaaaaa. Really awesome flavor. I served over orzo and cut the recipe in half so I eyed a lot of the amounts and it still turned out yumeee!! tRY IT you won't be dissapointed. Thanks to Nana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Tried this recipe and the family loved it. The tomato paste makes for a more "rich" sauce than others recipes. I used "Better Than Bouillon - Beef Base" for the stock as it keeps very well and is my go to beef stock with great flavor. I also used Red wine, as I traditionally use red wine with red meat and white wine with white meat. I'm sure its fantastic as written, a definite recipe to try. I've never ad better stroganoff...,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tjkrider08
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Very delicious and easy to follow instructions! This was my first time making Beef Stroganoff; I came to allrecipes.com looking for something my friend described as having made and I chose this one because it uses the same ingredients. As I was nervous about the meat tenderizing I used a tenderloin roast which cut simmer time to almost nothing. Simple, made mostly with ingredients commonly on hand with an outstanding result! Creamy, beefy, mushrooms. You won't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This is absolutely delicious. I made this exactly as directed and got a dish that was creamy, rich with flavor and hearty. My son liked it a lot and he is not a beef fan. I only had ground beef on hand but it worked just fine following the same directions. I sprinkled the flour & salt mixture over the ground beef before placing it in the pan. It adds flavor and thickens the drippings. Thank you for adding this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
My husband loved this! I added a splash of balsamic vinegar and included the white wine.I used leftover sirloin beef roast and let the flavors meld for 1 hour. Also added a few dashes of cayenne pepper and served over egg noodles..... Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was one of the best stroganoff recipes I've ever tried. I just shared some leftovers with a coworker and she agreed. I did add some balsamic vinegar to the stock mixture and I added more than the called for beef stock as the roux was too thick without it. Very, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love my Doxie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
My family liked the flavor of this recipe. I used leftover prime rib, I know that's a strange cut to put in a recipe like this but we had a lot of meat leftover after Christmas and my family was getting tired of it. The only thing I did differently was I didn't brown the meat, I just prepared the sauce with the mushrooms and added the meat. I also added the wine before the simmer. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States