Nana's Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This one was a bit too sweet for me with not much flavor. All I could taste was ketchup, sugar and vinegar. I Turned this into a half recipe of Big Al's K.C. BBQ Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
My family loved this bbq sauce. I doubled the recipe and used lemon juice to taste since I was out of vinegar. I also used garlic salt instead of celery salt. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Simple, tasty and FAST, which is why I am giving it 5 stars! This sauce is very good on BBQ chicken. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I planned on making ribs for dinner and was sure I had some BBQ sauce on hand in the cabinet; when I went to look for it there wasn't any...so I went to allrecipes.com and found Nana's Barbque Sauce. It was easy and quick to make and was absolutely delicious. It made me a star that evening for dinner. A big thumbs up for Nana's BBQ Sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Washington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I made baked chicken last night using this wonderful sauce. It was a hit with my company. I made it with Trader Joe's Organic Ketchup because my daughter is allergic to the corn syrup in other ketchups. We all loved it and I will use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Awesome recipe, even my kids love it and they are very picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This was my first attempt at making BBQ sauce, & I was very pleased with the results! I had to make a few substitutions just b/c there were some ingredients I didn't have on hand. I used cider vinegar, garlic powder (instead of celery salt), lime juice instead of lemon, & I omitted the onion (can't stand them!) It was so easy & tastes better than most of the bottled stuff...I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
The first time I tried this, I used it in a crockpot pork rib recipe (Honey Ribs here on this site), so I diluted it a bit (didn't need too....it turned out too runny that way), but I was pleasantly surprised at how flavorful the ribs still turned out! The 3rd time, I poured it directly over pork ribs abd baked them for about 1 1/2 hours, and ohhhh my goodness! Soooooo delicious!! These were the BEST ribs I have made in a long time, if ever! The flavor was AMAZING!! Very, very good! And I love that it was so easy to throw together. I am done buying BBQ sauce anymore, I'll just make it, because its so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I have used this recipe for 2 years in place of store sauces, trying to avoid High fructose Corn Syrup, and MSG. It's great! My family loves it. We use it on baked chicken and on the grill. I use onion powder (1 Tbsp) in place of chopped, and a squirt of mustard in place of mustard powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Very GOOD! I halved the recipe, used yellow mustard in place of the mustard powder, cut the brown sugar to 1/4 cup, and and 1/8 cup of vinegar. I used this on the marinated grilled chicken II recipe. DELICIOUS! Simply, easy and not too sweet with cutting back on the sugar. This makes a smaller serving amount than stated. If you want to have extra sauce on the side make sure to double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States