Nana's Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
This is a very simple recipe which turns out great! I tweaked the recipe just a little, using granny smith and macintosh apples. I also mixed a pinch of nutmeg, about 1 tsp of cinnamon, and about 1/2 tsp of vanilla in with apples before putting the crumb topping on. Turned out wonderful, even better with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I have made dozens of apple pies and apple crisps using different recipies - this is hands down the BEST I have tried. Lots of crispy, sweet (but not too sweet)and yummy topping. I added 3/4 cup of chopped walnuts, and it added a great crunch, but not necessary. So quick and easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYOUS_E

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Excellent recipe...a nice alternative to time-consuming apple pie! So easy!! Like some other reviewers, I baked this in a 9x9 pan and it fit perfectly. I put the last 1 tblsp cinnamon on top of the apples instead of on top of the crust. I sprinkled 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1/4 cup brown sugar on top of the apples also. Came out delicious! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Easy and very yummy! I replaced some white sugar with brown sugar. Apples were a little mushier than I like so next time I will probably only bake for 40-45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Was very easy to make. I followed some other reviewers and used half a cup brown sugar, half cup of white and a little vanilla. I wasn't so sure about all the butter but it turned out great. Both my husband and my daughter loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glenda124

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
This recipe was super simple and super delicious! My kids 7 and 10 like to help me in the kitchen and this is simple enough that we whip it up in a flash and then all stand around the oven waiting for it to come out. It fills the house with such a wonderful aroma that family and guests always comment! We do add an apple or two more but otherwise it's great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Easy & yummy, but I'm not sure this is the "perfect" apple crisp...I am going to test out a few more this fall before I decide. I added some brown sugar before the topping, and at 45 min it was plenty done. Served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Leftovers were almost as good as fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
all I can say is awesome recipe.....I would suggest this recipe for any occasion big winner in my family....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Very good - also great with granny smith apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Addicting!!! Yum, yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States